Skip to content

A Little Birdie

January 24, 2012

My parents gave me a Kindle Fire for Christmas and it has been lying around the house, shamelessly naked. While I can respect a certain amount of brazen disregard for social norms, I couldn’t allow this vixen out of the house without some appropriate coverings. So, I whipped up this little number. A crisp linen exterior featuring a small birdie closure hints at the playful cotton interior. Simple hair elastics are used to keep the Fire in place. While she still enjoys the occasional night of naked freedom, she has found a comfortable home in this mellow yellow cover.

I have always liked the birdie motif. The hipster in me is fighting it’s way to the surface this very minute, desperate to call out, “I liked birds before they were cool!” I don’t know if that’s actually true, but these little birdies are pretty cute! You may recognize the fabric from this tote bag. Thanks again to my friend Megan for sending it my way! This cover was so simple to make that I wanted to make another one right away. Everyone I know with a Kindle already has a cover though… Alas! On to the next project!

I was featured on 5 Days 5 Ways!! Woot! Woot!

five days five ways | feature friday free for all
***************************

I’m linking up at:
five days five ways | feature friday free for all

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    January 24, 2012 11:36 am

    So cute. Tim doesn’t have a cover for his, hint, hint. Also, my IPad. (but no pressure)
    Love,
    Mary Kay

  2. Megs permalink
    January 30, 2012 12:05 pm

    this is sooooo cute!! i love your creativity with it, i knew when i sent you that fabric you would love it!

  3. February 5, 2012 3:05 pm

    I don’t have a cover my Kindle! The biride motif is so cute and charming, I’m sure your Kindle is much happier now in its new outfit than it was when it was sitting there totally exposed 😉

  4. February 10, 2012 12:59 am

    A-STINKIN’-dorable! I love this and am featuring this tomorrow for Feature Friday FREE-FOR-ALL!

    Thanks for linking up!

    ~Abbie

  5. February 14, 2012 10:15 pm

    I love this cover! I can’t believe how much Kindle covers cost, but this one is unique, adorable and soooo much cheaper! Seriously, you should market this. 🙂

    • February 16, 2012 9:51 am

      Thanks! Maybe I will market these… when I have more time to sew, that is… haha

Leave a comment