Skip to content

Happy New Year! Happy Birthday!

January 23, 2012

Happy Year of the Dragon! Today is the Chinese New Year, so I am assuming that you all have red paper cut-outs hung on your doors and dragons festooning your house. No?? This is the year of the dragon, a year of power, prosperity and good fortune! That sounds like something to celebrate to me. Traditionally, Chinese families will give their houses a thorough cleaning to get rid of any ill-fortune and make way for good luck. I’m not sure I’m excited about the cleaning portion of the celebration, but there are also red envelopes filled with money that get passed out, so I guess you have take the fun with the practical sometimes…

Today is also a very special American holiday celebrated by millions – my birthday! I assume you’re celebrating my birthday by toasting to my good health, reciting odes to my beauty and, much like the Chinese holiday, sending envelopes filled with money. No?? Huh… At the very least, we will be celebrating here, but our festivities will include going to work and, much like the Chinese holiday, cleaning. Unfortunately, my birthday will also involve many hot compresses and some eye ointment… Over the weekend I developed some kind of eye infection and my right eye lid swelled up so much I could hardly crack it open. Hopefully it will clear up soon so I can cash in on Timmy’s offer to take me out for a special dinner. Two functioning eyes and Thai food? Yes, please!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Megs permalink
    January 23, 2012 10:14 am

    Love you!! I hope you feel better soon and that you have a wonderful birthday no matter what!! I wish I was close enough to celebrate with you but non the less I am thinking of you all day and will call you later.

  2. January 23, 2012 12:31 pm

    Happy birthday, Melissa! I know you will have a wonderful day even with only one eye open.

    Love you, Aunt Chris

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    January 23, 2012 5:33 pm

    Happy Birthday to the best daughter-in-law ever.
    Love,
    Mary Kay and Tim

Leave a Reply

