Skip to content

String of (Japanese) Pearls

July 22, 2011

This was another experiment in patternless sewing, but a bit easier than the skirt. Only two pieces for fabric! Well, three if you count the tiny piece I used for the back button closure. I have a simple dress that I like a lot in my closet, and I had some silky fabric I got on clearance a while ago (let’s just assume every piece of fabric I use was on clearance) that I thought would be cute as the simple dress. It’s not perfect, but I think it’s cute enough! The print on this fabric seems Japanese to me for some reason, and makes me think of that book The Pearl by John Steinbeck. Hopefully this dress does not leave devastation in it’s wake, unless it makes the wearer devastatingly beautiful, in which case it would be excellent! 

All I did was lay the fabric out, lay the dress on top, and trace around it with a disappearing ink pen. I am learning that I don’t need to leave as much room for the seam allowance when I use this method… Anyway, then I sewed the pieces together and hemmed all the edges. The button closure technique was taken from Jess at Craftiness Is Not Optional. The button was taken from my button collection, YAY for button collections! If you happen to get extra fun buttons with jackets, shirts, etc, and you’re thinking about just throwing them away, send them my way.  The belt was taken from the dress I used as a template. I think the total cost for this dress was about $4. Talk about a bargain!

So simple, but I love the look. A nice little added detail.

******************************

I linked up at Somewhat Simple:

Somewhat Simple

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    July 22, 2011 10:18 am

    love(1000)

  2. Rose permalink
    July 23, 2011 1:21 pm

    This could be my favorite thing that you’ve made and shown on this blog so far. Melissa – you are so talented and how do you do all of this stuff so quickly!!??

  3. July 23, 2011 1:31 pm

    that is an adorable dress! I love it! the button closure looks great. 🙂

  4. Lisa Koons permalink
    August 2, 2011 9:26 pm

    I have a small collection of buttons that I have never used. You may have them 🙂
    Lovely dress!

Leave a comment