Skip to content

Strawberry Lemon Yogurt Cake

July 23, 2013

Strawberry Yogurt Cake

I love when things come together at just the right time. I found a really nice bundt pan in my cupboard, which I’ve had for a long time. I couldn’t remember if I’d ever even used it before though. Then, I was clicking around on Pinterest and I happened to come across this recipe for Strawberry Yogurt Cake. Perfect!

On the other hand, I don’t like when I follow a recipe and it doesn’t turn out well. What a pain! Especially when it involves special ingredients that I don’t keep on hand, like greek yogurt or loads of strawberries. The first time I attempted to make this cake, I followed the directions, used plain yogurt, and waited half an hour for cooling, then turned the cake out of the pan. Fail. The top of the cake, where the strawberries settled, didn’t come out of the pan. However, the cake was delicious!

Strawberry Yogurt Cake2

Jane and PopSo, I did something I rarely do. I tried again, a couple days later. The issues weren’t really with the recipe, they were more to do with my interpretation of the recipe. This time I used greek yogurt (less liquid-y), I used slightly fewer strawberries, and I baked the cake about 10 minutes extra (because it needed it, that wasn’t planned). Then I let it cool completely in the pan before trying to turn it out. Success!! The cake came out perfectly, the texture was just right and the flavor was still excellent! Even better still, my desire to make the cake a success, but not to eat a second cake all by myself, led to Timmy, Jane and I going to his Nanny and Pop’s for dinner. So happy we could share the evening, and the tasty strawberry cake, with family!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    July 23, 2013 10:36 am

    Nanny told me about this yummy cake. I like the idea of using the yogurt in a recipe in place of sour cream. I LOVE this picture of Jane and Pop!

  2. Mom permalink
    July 23, 2013 11:10 am

    This looks delicious!

  3. Aunt Tricia permalink
    July 23, 2013 11:11 am

    I’m not actually your Mom but word press put me down as that, sorry

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    July 23, 2013 11:17 am

    Sweet cake, sweet baby! The cake was so light, moist and full of strawberries. That was a fun night and Nanny’s chicken paprikash was really tasty too! Jane loves her Pop esp. When he sings.

  5. Ann Marie permalink
    July 23, 2013 1:46 pm

    We miss Jane. She’s adorable. Thanks for the recipe Melissa.

  6. Mom permalink
    July 23, 2013 6:00 pm

    This is your Mom and the cake looks wonderful! Love you and miss you, Mom

  7. Pop permalink
    July 23, 2013 10:32 pm

    What a lucky guy I am. I married one of the world’s great cooks (pure American). But then my five daughters, two daughter-in-laws, and two grand-daughters-in-law are also great cooks. And Father Tom isn’t bad either. Also Frances and Trisha are also on their way to to that wonderful land of beautiful cooks. If it wasn’t for my magnificent self-control, I’d weigh 250 lbs.

Leave a Reply

