Skip to content

Cobb Salad Remix

April 17, 2013

I haven’t posted a recipe or baking adventure in a while, but today I have one for you: The Cobb Salad Remix. Unfortunately, it was all eaten up before I could take a photo, so you’ll have to settle for a photo of Timmy and I from last weekend. This picture does not do the monumental size of my belly justice. Have you been keeping track of the countdown in the right margin? Nine days until my due date. Yikes! As Jane is not making any attempts at escape, let’s get back to the salad.

38 Weeks

The traditional Cobb salad has almost all of my favorite salad ingredients: bacon, blue cheese, avocado, hard boiled eggs. YUM! I wanted to make my own version of this salad, sans the lettuce. Here’s what I came up with:

1 Avocado, diced

2 small tomatoes, diced

1 small-medium cucumber, diced

2 hard boiled eggs, diced

6 bacon strips, rough chop

2-3 scallions, chopped

3-4 oz block of good blue cheese, crumbled

Of course you can modify the ingredients to your taste, but the cucumber helps to give the salad some freshness and crunch, so you may want to add peppers or something else fresh and crunchy if you’re not a cucumber fan. I then topped the salad with a simple lemon vinaigrette:

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tbsp dijon mustard

3 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Whisk these ingredients together and pour over salad. I over-dressed my salad, so you may want to pour a little over, mix, and then decide if you want to add more. The lemon is important for preventing the avocado from turning brown, but it also adds a fresh, lightness to the salad. Basically, the lemon and the cucumber take the place of the lettuce in making sure the salad doesn’t get too heavy. It’s really just a basic dressing, good on any salad. This would be great for fresh veggies from your summer garden. I hope you enjoy it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2013 11:06 am

    aaaaaaahhhhhh that belly is the cutest thing ever!!!!!!!!

    • April 17, 2013 6:22 pm

      Haha, thanks… I assume by “cutest” you mean “biggest”, but I’ll take the generosity.

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    April 17, 2013 11:51 am

    I was lucky enough to get a taste ( or 2) of this salad and boy was it tasty!! I’m still thinking about it.
    Love the picture!

  3. Rose permalink
    April 17, 2013 4:57 pm

    Handsome couple (really a trio!)

    • April 17, 2013 6:24 pm

      Thank you! I just looked at the picture again and we are both REALLY pale… I guess we’ll have to spend some time outside this weekend, haha.

Leave a Reply

