Skip to content

Snug As A Bug Sweater

April 16, 2013

Snug - Pink

Usually, I really enjoy working on my knitting projects. Watching how, row by row, the item takes shape and turns into something recognizable is exciting every time. Some projects take a lot more patience and time than others, but are no less enjoyable to make. This little sweater was supposed to be a quick fun project to break up the long task of making my Baby Chalice Blanket. It turned out to be a pain and take far longer than the blanket.

Snug - Pink CollageEvery once in a while a project just is not as fun as I expected and this was one of those. I don’t know why. It was easy, it didn’t take a lot of attention, the yarn was thick enough to make it quick. And yet, it took me a couple months to finish because after I started, I just didn’t want to work on it. It didn’t help that the original pattern called for a hood, but after knitting 2/3 of the way through the hood portion I realized I was not going to have enough yarn to finish. So I had to tear that part out and decide how to proceed. I went for a simple, asymmetrical, slightly overlapping closure. It has a crochet edging to make it look neater and to create the button loops. I used every last scrap of the yarn. Making the change wasn’t a big deal, but it was just one more annoyance.

Ultimately, I do think it’s pretty cute, and the garter stitch will allow it to stretch and grow with Jane for a little while. The yarn is cotton, so even though it looks a little thick it is light and breathable. The yarn is also from my stash, so I can check off a few more yards on my Great Stash Down of 2013 (update coming soon). The yarn was Araucania Nature Cotton. The pattern is called Snug by Hinke. Don’t let my poor experience deter you from trying it, my complaints have nothing to do with the pattern. It really was easy and probably took only a few hours of knitting time to finish. Moral of the story: not every knitting experience is enjoyable, but they’re all worth the effort!

Ravelry Link: Snug as a Bug

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    April 16, 2013 3:46 pm

    That’s really cute and it does look nice and snuggly! can’t wait to see Jane model it.

  2. Rose permalink
    April 17, 2013 4:57 pm

    It looks really pretty – love the color – prefect Fall/Christmas snuggling maybe?

Trackbacks

  1. Heartwarmer for Jane | Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

