Skip to content

Thanks Giving {70}

April 12, 2013

Whew, this was a busy week! We kicked it off with a night of little sleep, and we’ve been trying to catch up on that all week… As if that were possible. I know, I know. This is only the beginning.

This week I am thankful for the weather! The beautiful sunshine and warm temps made cleaning so much more pleasant. I threw open the windows and let the breeze blow some sunshine through the house and get rid of the winter dust. I’m thankful for the rain too! I have always loved a good round of thunder and lightening. While we don’t get quite the same kind of thunderstorms here in PA as I used to get in Michigan, that makes me appreciate a clap of thunder even more. Enjoy the rain – it is April, after all!

I am thankful for a long chat with my sister-in-law, Emily, on Wednesday night. Having just delivered my first nephew a few weeks ago she had all kinds of really useful and reassuring info and advice. It was nice to be able to ask some of the more gross, recovery questions and hear from someone who is going through it now/just went through it. Thanks Emily! (PS – My labor and delivery better go as smoothly as yours!)

I am also thankful for the many trips to the hospital this week. Not labor/panic trips, scheduled ones. We had an orientation tour of the Mom & Baby Wing. We got to see all the different rooms and hear how things would go, even if there are complications. We learned how to read the monitors and all the “great” transformations the delivery bed can make to help with pushing. That made me a little anxious, but I guess it’s good to have options… We also had our check-in appointment, so when I do eventually go into labor we won’t have to answer tons of questions, just show up. Finally, I had my, now-weekly, doctor appointment where I found out that according to conventional signs I am not heading into labor any time soon. Since I was hoping for next week, I was a bit disappointed, but the OB told me her sister had the same indications and went into labor the next day with two of her children. The OB also told me that she really thinks Jane will be smaller than I thought. So that’s good news! Especially if she’s going to stay in there a while longer. I’m thankful that everything is still going smoothly and that we have a few more preparations taken care of.

I am thankful that I was able to get a lot of the cleaning done around the house already! I still have several things to do, but I gave myself until next Tuesday, so I’m staying on track. Maybe it’s a blessing in disguise that Jane isn’t hinting at an early appearance. Hopefully now that the cleaning is just about in order and the hospital visits are taken care of, I will be able to post more next week. And I’m thankful for that too!

Finally, I am thankful for book club this weekend! I still have a few pages to read, but I am looking forward to our discussion. I am also looking forward to going up to the Kinney’s house (Timmy’s aunt and uncle) for the meeting. I hear it’s close to the Appalachian Trail, and I would love a spring nature hike. I guess I wouldn’t get too far in my condition… I wonder who will get to pick the next book?!

What are you thankful for this week?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

