Skip to content

D-Day Prepping

April 9, 2013

I admit, I don’t watch that show Doomsday Preppers. I also admit that it’s partly out of fear that I’ll think they have a lot of good ideas… Sad, I know. It’s not that I think a zombie apocalypse is just around the corner, but I have this weird thing about stockpiling and being prepared. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a basement with shelves of canned items from your garden and a big freezer full of food? Maybe it’s just me…

I’m not talking about doomsday prepping today though, I’m talking about Delivery Day! Of course, I have been prepping for baby for a while, but last week I went into overdrive prepping for Timmy and I. I had been so busy taking care of baby projects that I forgot Timmy and I were still going to be here too. As I’ve stated so many times, Timmy is a wonderful husband; however, when it comes to cooking or even spending time in the kitchen… Let’s just say that’s not his preferred medium. So, I got to work!

I can only guess that exhaustion, a crying baby, nursing, etc will get in the way of my usual dinner making routine. I know that our families won’t let us starve, but I don’t want to be a burden either. I’m also hoping that, despite threats from both grandmothers-to-be, we will have a night or two as just our new little family. Enter the freezer stockpile. Last week I planned several freezer meals and side dishes, went on the longest trip to the grocery store ever, and spent a crazy amount of time in the kitchen making a huge mess. Did I mention I’m thankful for that dishwasher? It was all worth it. We have lasagna, roast chicken, roast beef, veggie and potato side dishes, breakfast sandwiches, tomato sauce, meatballs, barbeque chicken, garlic bread. Every excessively packaged dish (don’t want freezer burn to ruin all that work!) comes with a notecard including cooking instructions – usually bake, crock pot or grill. And I didn’t forget the non-food essentials: toilet paper, cleaning supplies, toiletry items, you name it (I’m not storing those things in the freezer). Our house is a complete mess, but we have most of what we need to get by for a while with Lady Jane around.

Now that I made that huge mess, this week the prepping is all cleaning; I’m talking extreme spring cleaning. All the things that I have put off/ignored/forgotten about are getting my full attention. If I can get everything on my list done by Monday or Tuesday next week, I’ll be happy, and I’m being generous with my timing so I don’t over-do it. Since I’ve been encouraging Jane to make her grand entrance toward the end of next week, the timing should be perfect. Right? Well, if she waits a little longer to arrive I will happily rest and knit until she’s ready.

Do you make freezer meals? What are your favorite recipes? I think I may make this a monthly/bi-monthly plan if all goes well and I could use some fresh ideas.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2013 9:11 am

    You’re in my thoughts friend!!

  2. Auntie Pam permalink
    April 9, 2013 9:35 am

    Sounds like all is ready. Uncle Kirk and I are anxious to meet the Lady. One of my favorite freezer dinners is pork loin. I slice 1″ to 1 1/2″ thick and freeze individually so I can take from freezer and drop in a hot frying pan with a little olive oil. Cover and cook for 15 or 20 minutes, turning a couple of times. Don’t over cook; if you use an instant read stop cooking at about 135 or 140 degrees and let rest 5 or so minutes. It will keep cooking. Pretty easy. It cooks while you put together the green salad or coleslaw. No need for anything else. I generally season with salt and pepper. Yum, yum!

Leave a Reply

