Skip to content

Thanks Giving {69}

April 5, 2013

I didn’t forget! I just had a long “to do” list… The number of items I am able to check off my list daily is inversely proportionate to the size of my belly. Let’s just say, my belly is getting pretty big. I’m finding it more difficult to fill my heart with gratitude lately; complaints and self-pity seem to come a lot easier. That being said, the need for Thankful Friday is that much greater!

So, this week I am thankful that I was able to make a big mess in my kitchen! You’ll hear more about that next week though.

I am thankful that my belly is so big, and Jane is still inside! I am now 37 weeks pregnant, which means that if Jane is born today she would be considered full term. Technically, I still have 3 weeks until my due date, but I am so happy that we made this far!! I also found out at my weekly doctor appointment that her head is down and she seems to be facing the right direction. She’s getting herself into position! I’m not sure I get a say, okay, I’m sure I don’t, but I’m requesting another week and a half or so before she gets motivated to make an entrance or should I say, exit. I still have a lot of cleaning I’d like to do…

I am thankful for the sweet neighbors I have had the pleasure to meet this week. One neighbor had just packed some things up from her daughter that were too small, and she offered them to me, even though we had never met before. So nice! Then, another neighbor who I have seen walk by a few times stopped to chat and see when I was due. She has a 6 year old, a 2 year old and a 10 month old – all girls. Both of these ladies told me I’d be fine, and they delivered their daughters all drug free. I don’t know that I’ll be as tough as they were, but it is nice to have the encouragement! I’m thankful for the addition of friendly faces on our block!

I am thankful for the knitting fashion show I attended a couple weeks ago with my mother-in-law. It was at Conversational Threads, my favorite local yarn shop. Everyone was so nice, the food was good and the yarn was lovely as always! Mostly, I am thankful because I regained some knitting motivation. Sometimes I go through a phase where I lose it with knitting and I was in a bit of a funk. After seeing all of the beautiful creations at the fashion show, I was inspired to get back to work. I even picked up a sweater that I had started for Timmy back in 2010… I’m back!

Finally, I am thankful for Timmy. He really does try to make me happy and not put too much pressure on me. I don’t know if he knows that I get frustrated when I can’t get everything done that I’d like, but he helps me not get so down on myself just by not mentioning the pile of unfolded laundry, or the dishes still in the dishwasher, or the many, many things that didn’t get done on a given day. I think one of the things that makes us good together is that neither of us are naggers (at least, I try not to be). We understand that things will get done in due time, and that we are both doing our best. And for that, I am very, very grateful!

What are you thankful for this week?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2013 6:03 pm

    Hi, Melissa. One thing I can tell you from experience. There is always a list of things to do and everything doesn’t get done. And, if it seems like it does, then within the next 24 hours the list will begin again. I do hope you are not really hard on yourself for not “getting everything done”. I can tell from your writing that you do get things done and most likely, you are the only one with the time pressure. So, lighten up on yourself and enjoy the next few weeks of peace and quiet and no diaper changing, etc…. you and Tim are about to be on the ride of a lifetime! Love you!

    • April 9, 2013 8:13 am

      Sadly, you’re right, the list never ends… But I’m getting better at not putting too much pressure on myself. And I’m getting better at doing the important things first and the fun things second (sometimes). It’s all a work in progress!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    April 5, 2013 8:45 pm

    I’m intrigued about the bid mess in the kitchen! It brings back memories of one time Dad took us kids off Mom’s hands by mixing flour and water in a bowl and then we used that to paste paper. I have no idea what we made, I just remember loving the pasting – with food!!
    Only 3 weeks left!! I’m so very excited.

  3. Rose permalink
    April 6, 2013 2:17 pm

    Thankful for beautiful spring weather, and two new babies on the way! Also thankful for a nice dinner out with Uncle Joe last night and that Nanny is doing so well despite some discomfort with walking! One more thing….I’m so happy that you have nice neighbors. You’re so easy to be nice to Melissa, because you’re so nice!

Leave a Reply

