Skip to content

DIY Boppy Covers

April 3, 2013

Ah, the boppy. One of the more ubiquitous baby items. Used for nursing, tummy time, helping the baby learn to sit up, and just about anything else you might need a pillow for (including airplane travel, so I’ve heard). My aunt passed hers along to me with a nice pink fleece cover. I am so grateful for all of the hand-me-downs we have received! It really does help. However, I thought that a fleece cover might get a bit toasty during nursing in mid-July. So, I decided to try to make an extra cover or two for Boppy’s summer wardrobe.

Boppy Cover

Most of the tutorials I found on Pinterest involved inserting some sort of zipper. I have zipper-phobia, and at least for now, I’m not making any efforts to overcome it. So I improvised a velcro/button version using this pattern. I was smart enough to use some fabric that I don’t totally LOVE on my first attempt, because it came out a tad ill-fitting. It will get the job done when needed, but it’s not pretty. So, it’s not pictured for a reason…

Boppy Cover BackAfter some slight modifications to the pattern, I was able to make this gray version, out of the little house fabric I do love. And it fits great! Now I won’t have to rush to do laundry if Jane makes a mess on Boppy’s only outfit while nursing. If I get the sewing machine out again and have the motivation I may make one more cover, but for now I’m happy with 3. Pretty soon I’ll feel like I have everything I need for this whole bringing-home-baby thing. Of course, I’m sure I’ll be wrong, but the false sense of security will be nice while it lasts!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2013 9:45 am

    I make my own boppy pillows and covers. They are easy peasy and my go to shower gift!

  2. Anna White permalink
    April 3, 2013 9:50 pm

    I love my Boppy! Though it’s never the baby making a mess on it, instead I leak all over it, haha.

    • April 5, 2013 4:48 pm

      Hope you and baby are still doing well!! Either way, I’ll be glad I have a few extra covers haha…

      • Anna White permalink
        April 26, 2013 11:51 am

        We are both great! You will love your extra covers. Also, happy D-day! Hang in there. It’s all worth it in the end!

Leave a Reply

