Skip to content

Last Minute Blankets

April 1, 2013

Basic Blankets

Every time I turn around the number of (fill in the blanks) you need daily for a baby increases. First I read that she would go through 3 outfits a day, then I was told 5. Now, I think the number is up to 13… Then it was 5 – 8 diapers a day, which increased to as many diapers as hours the baby is old on into infinity. “Oh, you’ll want to have plenty of extra blankets around, they always come in handy!” Over the last year Timmy and I have been making an effort to get rid of things cluttering up the house. Little did we know, it was all so that there would be plenty of room for the piles and piles of onsies and trillions of stock piled diapers. So much for simplifying…

Basic Blankets Collage

I can’t say I mind having all the baby things around, especially the things that have been washed with Dreft – the nursery smells like a baby already lives there! But, all this talk does make me worry that either we will run out of supplies really quickly, or I will be doing 10 loads of laundry a day. I know, probably both. But, in an effort to be a little more prepared, I got out the old sewing machine and whipped up a couple blankets. When I say whipped up, I mean it. There is absolutely nothing fancy about these babies. They are square with a simple hemmed edge, one of them only has one layer. But they will do the trick, I imagine. My baby brain wasn’t really feeling up to getting creative, just some mindless straight lines.

Scrappy Burp ClothsNow, we have a drawer full of onsies from our generous friends and family, a moderate supply of diapers in varying sizes, and a few extra blankets just in case. While I was at it I used some scraps to make a couple more burp cloths. Do I feel prepared? Not in the slightest, is that even possible?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 10:00 am

    Cute blankets! I am really enjoying your blog! (I went to high school with your Mom.)

Leave a Reply

