Skip to content

Carseat Canopy with a Side of Paranoia

March 27, 2013

A few weeks ago Timmy came home from a haircut and asked me if I thought I’d have a problem with people touching our baby. I didn’t think I’d be the mom to keep hand sanitizer all over the house and require handwashing upon admittance, but a certain amount of caution is fine. I wasn’t thinking broad enough. I assumed we were talking about family and friends. Our hairdresser, (yes, we go to the same person) had told Timmy a story about a stranger who picked up the little girl she was watching at a store. She turned her back for a second and some lady picked up the little girl.

Car Seat Canopy

What?!?! People do that?? This is a whole new realm of parenting I hadn’t even thought about. Apparently, some people (strangers!!) see no problem with putting their hands all over your little baby just because she’s cute and exposed. So the answer is, no. No, I’m not okay with that. Who is this person? Where have their hands been? If we’re at the store, they’ve surely touched a thousand germ infested surfaces. Even if they are clean, I don’t know them. Needless to say, I had to do something to prevent this horrifying situation when Jane arrives.

Car Seat Canopy Collage

Enter the carseat canopy. I had seen these online a while ago, they’re not exactly a new idea, but now I understand their value. So, I quickly sorted through my fabric on hand and made a canopy for Jane’s carseat using this tutorial. It’s attached at the handle with velcro, and I included a ric-rac trim for a little girly detail. Timmy doesn’t think she’ll like it in the dark under there, but I think she’ll be fine. Plus, we can just flip the fabric back if she’s unhappy. The point is, when we walk through the grocery store, and I turn my back to grab a carton of milk, I don’t have to worry that some well meaning but woefully misguided grandma/creepy man/nosy kid will be sticking their probably grime crusted hands all over my precious Janey’s face. But no, I don’t think I’ll be paranoid or anything…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    March 27, 2013 11:57 am

    Unless it’s me! Right?

    • March 27, 2013 4:37 pm

      Of course, I know you. This is a shield for strangers. Friends/family are welcome to touch and snuggle and kiss and love!

  2. March 27, 2013 12:10 pm

    I dont think you are crazy at all. I cant remember if I told you about the crazy lady in Wal Mart whom while I was still pregnant with Aaden said to her small child “oh look hunny that lady has a baby in her belly”. The woman turns to me and says “can I show my child your baby belly?”. Thinking to myself you already have I say ummm ssshure??? She then proceeds to walk up to me LIFT MY SHIRT and say “see hunny there is a baby in there”. I was stunned the lady helping me check out was stunned, so if people dont mind touching them when they are still in your stomach I would say they probably have no problem touching them when they are out too. Moral of the story good move with this cute cover!!

    • March 27, 2013 4:39 pm

      You did tell me that story, but I forgot. Insanity! That’s crazier than touching a baby.

Leave a Reply

