Skip to content

Drifted Pearls – Late Season Knitting

March 19, 2013

IMG_3906

I know, spring is almost here and I just knit a scarf. Well, when your mom makes a knitting request, you don’t say no. My mom was so happy with the scarf I made her for Christmas, that she wanted another one, in black. Black is not the most fun to knit with, but this yarn is a wool/cashmere blend, so it was soft and squishy. Even if it was hard to see my stitches sometimes.

IMG_3904

This was a bit of a knitting adventure, involving twisted stitches, cabling and bobbles. I had never knit a twisted stitch cable, so I thought it might be tricky, but once I got started it was pretty simple. I love the way it turned out! I just hope she likes it too. The pattern is Drifted Pearls by Jennifer Lang of Sadie & Oliver. She has some really lovely patterns, I am also working on the Alsace Scarf. Well, it’s sitting half done in a cupboard, but I’ll get back to it at some point because I love it.

While my mom might not get a lot of use out of this this year, she will have it all ready for next year. If there’s one thing I love about the changing seasons, it’s pulling out the clothes for the new season and remembering new end of the season purchases that I had forgotten. It’s like getting a whole new wardrobe! It’s almost that time again, with spring around the corner. And even better – I’ll be able to head into the warm weather without a giant baby belly! Finally, I will have more than 10 outfits to choose from!! That is one of the few things I have not enjoyed about pregnancy – though it has encouraged some creativity, especially as we’re getting to the end.

So Mom, I hope you enjoy this, this year or next. I enjoyed knitting it!

My Ravelry project link: Drifted Pearls

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    March 19, 2013 12:50 pm

    Gorgeous! I love it!

  2. Mom permalink
    March 19, 2013 1:04 pm

    This scarf is absolutly beautiful! I am wearing it today. We have a blustery winter day going on here in Michigan with wind and snow. So this scarf is perfect! Thank you Melissa, I love you. Mom

  3. Aunt Martha permalink
    March 19, 2013 1:18 pm

    It is beautiful, nice work Melissa!

Leave a Reply

