Skip to content

Thanks Giving {66}

March 15, 2013

So many blessings this week! Here are a few:

I am thankful for the nice people who work at Wegman’s. I grocery shop Monday mornings, usually right around the time they are stocking the shelves. Every time something I need is missing, they go to the back and find it for me and bring it right out. And the lady who was stocking the butcher/meats section gave me tips on the braised pork I was planning to make. It’s so nice to shop where people are friendly and helpful!

I am thankful for the high chair that was delivered to our house early this week. It was a surprise, and there is no indication of who sent it. So, if you are reading this, let me know so I can thank you personally.  We appreciate it! It’s exciting to see everything coming together before Lady Jane arrives!

I am thankful for the big basket of baby toy goodies that the the partners at Timmy’s firm sent home with him this week. It was full of Dr. Seuss books, board books, soft books, blocks, a shape sorter, and more. I was/am so excited! I immediately read a book to Jane (and Timmy while he was getting ready to go for a run). Are You My Mother? Timmy’s favorite part is when the baby bird thinks the crane is his mother. He’s so cute. The books are just in time too, since the new book shelves are painted and ready to be hung.

I’m thankful for the new Pope, Pope Francis. I’m not Catholic, but I still think the whole process is really amazing. We are watching The Tudors on Netflix, and they have scenes where the cardinals of England are all holding a meeting to determine the fate of King Henry’s marriage to Catherine. When I saw a shot of the cardinals together before the conclave I thought they were showing a scene from the show. It is amazing how the catholic church has so many traditions that have not changed in hundreds of years. Also, this new Pope, in some ways, represents all Christians to the world. I hope he does a good job, so far I like him!

I am thankful for the Prenatal Breast Feeding class I took last night at St. Luke’s Hospital (where Jane will be born). It was really interesting and informative. The instructor gave us a lot of practical advice and was reassuring about all the things I was worried about. I hope the next couple of classes we signed up for are just as helpful!

Finally, I am thankful for the biggest blessing of the week – Baby Hayden Garret Walker, my new nephew (7lbs, 7ozs, 20″)!!  My brother and sister-in-law went to the hospital around 1:00am Thursday morning and at 5:35pm they had a precious, perfect baby bundle! My mom and grandma drove out to Wisconsin, and they made it there before he made his grand entrance. I got to chat with Emily in the afternoon and she was doing great! It has really calmed my own fears about labor. And while I’m so thankful for that bit of peace, I’m even more thankful for Baby Hayden! The tiniest, best blessing we could ask for! Congratulations Mommy and Daddy!

Hayden Garret

Michael, Hayden & Emily – Doesn’t she look great after all that work?! Isn’t he the cutest little thing?!

What are you thankful for this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Chris (Chris Hopkins) permalink
    March 15, 2013 8:54 am

    So much to be thankful for! And congratulations to Michael & Emily. Beautiful family. Thanks for sharing your blog with me! Love you, Melissa.

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    March 15, 2013 10:54 am

    Nice Thanksgiving, Melissa. Congratulations on your status as an aunt. It’s a wonderful role. Thanks for sharing Baby Hayden with us. Look at those beautiful eyes peeping out from under the cap! He is really gorgeous! Your family is so lucky. Can’t wait for our new babies to make their grand entrances. The more the merrier!

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    March 15, 2013 12:29 pm

    Comgratulations, Michael and Emily!!! Hayden is beautiful and you make such a lovely family.
    Being an Aunt/Uncle is so special. Congratulations.

  4. MaryAnn permalink
    March 15, 2013 11:34 pm

    congratulations auntie Mel!….. so excited for you both looks like you’re going to be prepared!…. God’s blessings on both of you… and baby Jane!

Leave a Reply

