Skip to content

Nursery Art: Home Tweet Home

March 6, 2013

Last weekend Timmy and I both did some work in the nursery, and it’s starting to look like a nursery! Timmy hung new, and much needed, blinds. It was a pain, especially since I bought the wrong size the first time around… Oops! But it makes a HUGE difference. The old blinds were aluminum with a faux wood paint job, and they had not been dusted since circa 1978. They did go well with the olive green carpet in there that hadn’t been vacuumed since around the same time. We took the carpet out before we even moved in, but since we didn’t use that room for much we just left the blinds. Now it looks updated and clean! Thanks Timmy!

Book Nook

IMG_3924My contribution was to put together a little art display over Jane’s new book stand (Thanks Aunt Tricia and Uncle Adam!). Sorry about the lighting… This spot, and the nursery in general, is not ideal for photography. You’ll recognize the little embroidered house I showed off last week. I got the idea to paint little bird houses from something I saw on Pinterest. They were only $1.99 at A.C. Moore, how could I resist? I’d love to add little lights inside each one for a night light effect, but I’m not sure how to do that… There isn’t a hole on the back and I don’t know whether they’re sturdy enough to be drilled/cut into. Any ideas?

IMG_3927I have been playing around with a few ideas for her name. Originally I wanted to print out vintage style letter flash cards, but none of them had the feel I was hoping for. I might still print a set out to display the whole alphabet, but that’s for another day. For now, I just played around in word using various fonts I’ve downloaded over time (I love free fonts online!) and came up with something I liked. I just printed them on white cardstock and embellished with washi tape – love that stuff too.

IMG_3926The art on the bottom and the origami bows were originally going to be for two separate projects that weren’t quite right. Turns out they work perfect for this project. The origami bows were fun to make, and not too difficult at all. I will admit that they aren’t technically origami because I did do some cutting – sorry origami purists… The “I love everything about you” art was a free printable I found online and colored with colored pencils. I like that I could customize the color combo for Jane’s room.

IMG_3930And one of the best parts, the Mary Poppins quote, was a birthday gift from my grandma. When my brother and I were younger we would stay the night at Grandma’s house, and she would let us sleep in her bed with her, where there was a TV! How cool is that?! Being from a home that didn’t even have cable yet (I lived in the boonies) a TV in the bedroom, with a satellite dish to boot, was the coolest. That was where I was introduced to Rainbow Bright and Kids Incorporated – the best kids shows ever, aside from Fraggle Rock, of course. For some reason my brother and I would always pick Mary Poppins as our bedtime movie though. The three of us would climb in, snuggle up and sing along with all the songs, giggling the whole time. Inevitably, Grandma would fall asleep first and my brother and I would laugh every time she snored. I’m so happy that I could add a happy memory from my childhood into Lady Jane’s nursery. It makes me smile every time I walk in there.

There is still plenty to do in the nursery, but we are slowly making progress and pulling things together. On the agenda for next weekend: Hang the book shelves that Timmy’s dad built for Jane. I just have to get them painted this week… Better get back to work!

 

Here are a few project details, if you’re interested:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2013 12:21 pm

    I love it!!! You are so creative you amaze me 🙂 I can’t wait to see the whole thing put together for little miss Jane.

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    March 6, 2013 8:47 pm

    The room looks so pretty! Lady Jane is a lucky little girl!

  3. Darlene Hatley permalink
    March 6, 2013 8:49 pm

    Very cute Melissa. I’m sure Lady Jane will LOVE IT. How ’bout getting some of those battery operated tea lights for inside your birdhouses, or they have little battery operated candles that have a timer, so you can set it to come on at night and go off in the a.m. Both types last quite a long time. If you get the battery operated candles, then you can get re-chargable batteries. I bought one of the candles at Christmas time, I have it on every single night for I think 9 hours at a time, and have only had to charge the battery once since like November. Just a thought. Good luck. Darlene Date: Wed, 6 Mar 2013 13:37:52 +0000 To: katzpaw853@hotmail.com

  4. Rose permalink
    March 7, 2013 1:44 am

    Melissa, I love the Mary Poppins and Grandma story. What a beautiful room made by a beautiful Mother!

Leave a Reply

