Skip to content

Baby Chalice Blanket

March 5, 2013
tags: ,

Baby Chalice Blanket

Chalice Blanket CollageI did it! I finished the baby blanket for Lady Jane! As much as I complained objectively observed that it seems like blankets take forever, it probably took less time to make than an adult sweater. It was a baby blanket after all, not an afghan. Had I just focused in and worked exclusively on the blanket I would have been done much sooner, but that would not have been fun. So instead I took my time, happily worked one section at a time, and… Tada!!

The pattern is called Baby Chalice Blanket (by Karen S. Lauger) because it uses a traditional chalice lace pattern. It was repetitive, which made it easier to set goals (I’ll finish 4 repeats before I set it aside again), and easier to set aside and easily pick up where I left off. Most of the baby blanket patterns I picked to make, if I ever make another, are similar to this. I think I’ll probably use a more solid color yarn though, so the lace pattern stands out more.

I got this yarn in NYC at Vogue Knitting Live. It is Newton’s Yarn Country DK Superwash Merino Nylon, so I can throw it in the wash anytime Lady Jane gets a little messy. The skein was enormous – almost 2,ooo yards – and I only used around 840 yards. I’m not sure yet what I’ll do with the rest. It was really nice to work with, no splitting or anything. It is soft and squishy, perfect to wrap up a little bundle of a baby. And yikes, she’s going to be here soon!

My Ravelry project page: Baby Chalice Blanket

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Pam permalink
    March 5, 2013 10:11 am

    Beautiful, I think this yarn and pattern would make a lovely Auntie Pam blanket also!

    • March 5, 2013 10:24 am

      Actually, in a heavier weight yarn it would be pretty big and just as easy. I’ll have to keep that in mind.

  2. MaryAnn permalink
    March 5, 2013 3:21 pm

    beautiful! Worth every complaint oops I mean objective observation……

Trackbacks

  1. Snug As A Bug Sweater | Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

