Skip to content

Boneyard Shawl

February 26, 2013

Boneyard Shawl

I needed to take a break from the endless baby blanket knitting, and I was anxious to use some of the yarn I picked up at Vogue Knitting Live in NYC: enter this scarf/shawl. It only took a few days to knit and I have already worn it several times as both a scarf and a shawl. I don’t feel a shred of guilt for taking a brief hiatus from baby knitting for this project. I’ve heard rumors that some people barely knit anything for their babies, but I know that can’t be true. Must be a knitting myth. I’m not Catholic, so I don’t have to deal with that guilt (though occasionally I feel guilty not being Catholic, since Timmy’s whole family is, but I don’t think that’s the same thing), but I do deal with a lot of knitters’ guilt. Shouldn’t I be knitting something for Jane or Timmy or any number of other deserving people in my life. I work through that guilt pretty quickly, having been trained to over come guilt by years of guilt-oppression from my mother. She’ll hate that I wrote that because she has no idea she does it. Sorry, Mom! Back to the point, I made this for myself and I love it.

IMG_3846The yarn is Knitwits Freia Handpaints Ombre (100% wool). It wasn’t the softest yarn initially, but as I knit, and especially after blocking it fluffed up to be soft and cozy. I wanted it to be big enough to work as a scarf and a shawl, so I knit every last scrap of yarn I had, and then I blocked the heck out of it (stretched and pinned while damp). On a recent trip to my local yarn shop I discovered that they just got some of this yarn in stock too. I would have bought more in a different color right then, but I tried to keep to the rules of the Great Stash Down and restrain myself. This was made easier when I saw that it was more expensive than the stand at Vogue Knitting Live.

Boneyard Collage

West QueueThe pattern is Boneyard by Stephen West. If you’re new to knitting and want to attempt a shawl or scarf, this is an excellent pattern to try. It’s free, there is no lace or cabling, and it can be as big or little as you want depending on how much yarn you have and how long you want to work on it. Stephen West is a pretty popular shawl/scarf designer (among other things), but this was my first time trying one of his patterns. I already added a couple more to my knitting queue: Daybreak (top pic – courtesy of knittingowl) and Old Forge (bottom pic). I think I’ll use the mink yarn I also got in NYC for Daybreak – if I could just finish a couple more baby items…

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. alola666 permalink
    February 26, 2013 11:40 am

    That yarn is just beautiful!!

  2. February 26, 2013 4:50 pm

    fantastic colours!

  3. February 26, 2013 10:29 pm

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

