Skip to content

Thanks Giving {63}

February 22, 2013

After yesterday’s post, in which I whine and complain, reflecting on what I’m thankful for seems most appropriate. And the biggest thing I am thankful for right now, is this baby growing in my belly! After a year and a half of praying, hoping, and being disappointed each month, I am thankful for every part of this pregnancy – the good and the not so fun. I know some people wait much longer, and I have the greatest compassion for them. I would be happy with bed rest, gestational diabetes and varicose veins! Which reminds me, I’m thankful that I don’t have any of those issues. I am thankful that my pregnancy has been pretty uneventful (I’m hoping the gratitude cancels out any jinxing here…). I am thankful for every kick, wiggle and uncomfortable tumble.

I’m thankful that I get tired. It means I have to take a break, which I’m learning is not such a bad thing. Usually I like to keep working on something until I’m done – forget eating or anything else. Now I have to pay attention to how I feel, I have to rest after 10 trips up and down the stairs with the laundry basket, I have to eat on a regular schedule. I’d much rather sit down and have a snack for 10 minutes than get dizzy and/or pass out. Plus, it’s easier to keep up with my e-mail now!

I’m thankful that my belly button has started to pop out! Weird, I know, but I’ve always thought that outtie belly buttons were the height of cool. Admittedly, I’m past the age (and size) for midriff baring, but I’ll enjoy my outtie for the next 2 months anyway.

I’m thankful that Timmy is (almost) as excited about this new adventure as I am. I still get a little sad when I think about how we will never just be the two of us again, but he always reminds me that this is the best reason to give up that two-ness. I’m excited to see him in his new role as daddy – if I thought he was good looking and wonderful before, wait until he’s holding Jane and reading her a story! My heart might explode…

Lastly, I’m thankful that MaryKay (my mother-in-law) and I are driving down to Philadelphia for lunch with Aunt Rose and Tricia (my sister-in-law). I feel really blessed that they have welcomed me so whole-heartedly into the family. I don’t think of them as Timmy’s family, I think of them as our family. I’m thankful for the chance to have fun with some of my favorite people today!

What are you thankful for today?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    February 22, 2013 5:40 pm

    I’m glad you feel that way about all of us!! Today was fun…the growing bellies are beautiful! I’m trying to figure out when you had time to write this post.

  2. Rose permalink
    February 22, 2013 10:50 pm

    I’m glad you feel that way too! It was so nice to get together today. You are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

