Skip to content

Nursery Art: Animal Silhouettes

February 21, 2013

Apparently, as I am almost 8 months pregnant, nesting is supposed to have hit me like a truck. And it’s supposed to increase exponentially as the due date approaches. Well, it hasn’t really hit me yet. I have definitely been trying to get things ready, but I haven’t gone crazy about it. To be honest, what I really want to be knitting right now is something for myself… And baking sounds more fun than washing all those baby clothes… Call me selfish, but I have to make a mental effort to get myself to focus on baby preparedness.

Don’t get me wrong, baby stuff is adorable, and I love it. I love all the little books and clothes and the socks! The socks. Nothing is cuter. It just all seems like a lot of work and at the end of a day filled with the usual house work and errands, I’m tired. Not only do I have a living thing sucking my best nutrients and energy, I’m also working with a 20 lb bowling ball strapped to my stomach. Needless to say, cleaning out and reorganizing all of my kitchen cupboards to make room for bottles and bibs (as cute as they are) isn’t my idea of a good time. If it were up to me, preparing would be limited to shopping for pink dresses and tiny shoes, and staring at my big belly watching for little Lady Jane wiggles.

But, alas, things must be done. I let Timmy paint the nursery – now the decorating begins. This should be the fun part, and slowly but surely I’m coming around. The thing is, the nursery is actually pretty big. There is a LOT of wall space. I know that Tim (aka Grandfather Teng) is going to try to build some book shelves for one wall. And I have a plan involving pictures for the space over her dresser. That just leaves a giant, windowless wall waiting for creativity. I’m going to do a big collection of art in various styles and sizes. Some of it will be my own crafty styling, and some will be lifted from books, contributed by friends and maybe even purchased (maybe).

Animal Silhouettes

This was my first project – animal silhouettes with Scrabble letters. It’s my own variation on a couple Pinterest ideas. Technically, I couldn’t part with the Scrabble letters, so these are from Bananagrams – a board-less Scrabble derivation – that got sticky and discolored somehow. I think they came out pretty cute, and they didn’t take too much work. Sounds like success to me! I have a few other ideas stewing in my head too, including an attempt at embroidery, and a DIY floating frame. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

Oh, and I did reorganize the kitchen cupboards. Check. Now for that laundry… I’ve got time, right? Right??

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim Duckworth permalink
    February 21, 2013 11:27 am

    Funny! When you mentioned “socks” and “nothing is cuter”, my first thought was Billy’s dirty, smelly, crusty socks we used to find between cushions on the couch.

    Also, please revise the blog to delete “to try” on the fourth line of the third paragraph. Thank you.

    • February 21, 2013 12:07 pm

      Haha, no those socks are gross. Baby socks are the cute ones. And I will be happy to revise the “to try” line as soon as the shelves are hanging on the wall.

  2. February 21, 2013 1:33 pm

    I love these!

  3. February 21, 2013 2:32 pm

    I bet the nursery is going to be just wonderful when it’s finished. Can’t wait to see the pictures. And, laundry is just never fun. It’s the putting it away that always seems like the worst part. But, with an attitude of gratitude that we have the equipment to do the work, I get through it. Thank you for sharing what goes on in your world. I love it! And, do you have a name picked out for your baby? I see that you call her Lady Jane but could not find a post where you say that comes from. Take care, sweetie!

    • February 21, 2013 2:39 pm

      I sure hope so… We are naming her Jane Anne Duckworth. I have liked the name Jane for a very long time and it just so happens that it’s also Timmy’s grandmother’s name so we’re keeping up the family tradition. Anne is my middle name, and my mom’s, and it is also Timmy’s other grandmother’s name (actually Ann without the “e”). So there’s a lot of history with the name. We’re pretty traditional.

Leave a Reply

