Skip to content

Baby Boy Blue & Tortuga Too

February 19, 2013

A couple weekends ago, I mentioned going back to Michigan for my baby shower. The shower was also for my sister-in-law Emily, who is expecting a little baby boy in just about a month. (Yikes, that’s coming right up!) So, of course I had to make a little something for the occasion. I originally planned to “whip up” a baby blanket, but man, those take a looong time… Maybe I’m just a slow knitter, but after Christmas I didn’t quite have it in me to attempt speed knitting a blanket. Instead, I went with this cute little sweater.

IMG_3753

The pattern was a bit of a nightmare. I think there were some mistakes in the translation or something (it’s originally in Norwegian), because a lot of other people who attempted this had issues too. Thankfully, I’m okay with improvising, and I was able to fudge my way to the finish. I think it came out just fine! The yarn is Madelinetosh Pashmina in Ink, and it is gorgeous. I pretty much love all things Madelinetosh, but this Ink color is so rich it’s almost 3-dimensional. Lucky for me I have another skein! And – this was stash yarn – so one more tiny dent in the Great Stash Down of 2013!

2013-02-19

Of course, a sweater is nice, but I thought the gift needed a little something fun, so I knit this tiny tortuga (Pattern: Tiny Turtle). It’s only about 3 inches long. Perfect for the baby to uncoordinatedly shake around in his hand or whatever he likes. Aside from having to sew things up, I like knitting toys on occasion. I have a few lined up for Lady Jane as well, if I ever finish the blanket I’m making for her. That’s right, I’m only making one for MY baby. Let the spoiling (knit-wise) begin…

2013-02-191

My Ravelry Links: Textured Jumper | Tiny Tortuga

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2013 2:48 pm

    Beautiful sweater for you nephew! He will look quite dashing! And the turtle is cute, too.

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    February 19, 2013 4:45 pm

    That came out so nice. I love the pashmina, lucky nephew!! Hope we get to see a picture of him in it soon.
    Mary Kay

  3. February 19, 2013 4:56 pm

    what a beautiful sweater – and toy, too!

  4. Emily permalink
    February 20, 2013 12:44 pm

    I love seeing his little sweaters hanging in the closet! Our kids are going to be very stylish thanks to you 🙂

  5. February 20, 2013 4:17 pm

    So Cute Mek! I LOVE what you do….I wish I was HALF as talented! I don’t know if I could have “improvised” with errors in the pattern! Kudos to you Mis Melissa!

Leave a Reply

