Skip to content

Warm Woolen Mittens

February 12, 2013

Hickory Mittens

Just in time for some chillier weather and the snow, I knit up these thick, heavy mittens. Let me tell you, they are thick. The colors were dictated by my stash – that’s right these were part of the Great Stash Down of 2013! I knit these while I was at Vogue Knitting Live a couple weekends ago, and a lot of people stopped to check out what I was doing. I felt pretty awesome, haha.

Hickory Mitten Collage

Hickory Mitten Join

I used the Hickory Mitten pattern by Adrian Bazilia, and added a lining. These mittens were a little more challenging than most of my usual projects because they require you to knit with 4 colors at the same time. Rather than worry about twisting my yarn all the time (and making my knitting way to tight), I just left long floats and planned on doing a lining. If you leave the floats, they’re just like big strings for your fingers and rings to get caught in. So I knit the mitten according to the pattern, then I picked up stitches around the wrist and knit another, simpler mitten from there down. Then I just tucked the second mitten inside the Hickory Mitten and voila – a lined mitten! I think I’ll be making lined mittens for little hands a lot in the future, just because they add durability and warmth. And they’re fun!

Find it on Ravelry: My Hickory Mittens

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    February 12, 2013 4:42 pm

    Those are gorgeous!! I love the colors.

Leave a Reply

