Skip to content

True Confessions: Orange-Cinnamon Lassi

February 11, 2013

Here’s my confession: I have Fruit OCD. I like oranges. I don’t looove them, but I like them. The fact is, there are only certain fruits for which I am willing to put in the work necessary for enjoyment. Pomegranates, definitely. Clementines, usually. Oranges, not often. Watermelon, never (don’t even get me started on so-called “seedless” watermelon). I’m not including foods like cantaloup and pineapple that just require basic prepping and can then be enjoyed anytime; I’m fine with those.

Oranges have a lot going on. The rind, is clearly a problem. But even once you get that off you have to deal with all the pith. I don’t like it. When eating a clementine it takes me an exorbitant amount of time to peel away each vein around the outside, before separating the segments. The only reason I can handle clementines is the segments are smaller and usually the thin wall separating each segment is more tender than in other types of citrus fruits. Oranges – they’re pushing my limits.

However, I do like the flavor of oranges. I enjoy orange juice (pulp free, obviously). I certainly don’t mind a sliver of orange adorning my cocktail glass. So, when I saw this recipe on Pinterest, I thought I’d give it a try – with a couple minor tweaks. See, the recipe calls for an orange, peeled and quartered and then just dropped in the blender. That is the stuff of nightmares. I get the shivers just thinking about all that pulp… So, I cut the rind off of my oranges and then cut each segment out of it’s pith shell. Then I could enjoy the orange flavor without the hellish pulp. I also added extra honey, because I wanted my drink a little sweeter than the recipe.

Orange Lassi

Now that you know the truth about me – I have a closet case of Fruit OCD – I hope you go check out this recipe for a twist on an Indian classic – the Orange-Cinnamon Lassi from What’s Cooking With Ruthie. It’s delicious! Plus – we all could use a vitamin C boost with the flu epidemic and always changing weather.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

