Skip to content

Vogue Knitting Live in NYC!

January 22, 2013

VKL

Last weekend I got to go to New York City for Vogue Knitting Live!! It was so much fun!!!! Just being surrounded by all those knitters and crafters and fiber artists was exciting, motivating and even inspiring. As a toucher, I loved being able to walk through the Market Place and feel all the yarn. There was cashmere and angora and bison – OH MY! There was one lady who sheered and spun all the yarn in her shop, and each skein of yarn came with a picture of the specific animal it came from. There were people everywhere in the hotel during the day just knitting and chatting and making new friends. What a great experience!

VKL Social

Adding to the fun, was the people I get to go with. My old friend Shannon (I’ve known her since we were 9!) and her mom were going with a knitting group, and they made room for me. When you’re new to a group of people who already know each other, sometimes it’s hard to break in, but these ladies could not have been more friendly. I felt completely comfortable and part of the group within minutes. They were open, funny and genuinely sweet people. I’m happy to have these new friends (on Ravelry and in real life)!

VKL Fashion Show

Aside from the Market Place, they also had fashion shows and free demonstrations. These are just a few pictures. Of course, I saved up some money so I could buy a bit of fun yarn while I was there. And boy did I!  I already started working on a baby blanket with some colorful hand-painted yarn I purchased. The yarn ball in the bottom left corner picture below (gray-ish blending into yellowy-chartruese) is one that I ended up taking home too. I also got some 100% Mink yarn. You would not believe how soft it is! I’ve already picked out my patterns and am anxious to get started on lots of new projects!!

VKL Market

Thanks again to Timmy for sending me on this totally fun adventure! Hopefully I’ll get to go again next year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    January 22, 2013 4:44 pm

    I’m glad you had a good time and could tell me about all the latest fashion for short sleeves!

Trackbacks

  1. Boneyard Shawl | Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings
  2. Baby Chalice Blanket | Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings
  3. Home Coming Dress for Jane | Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

