Skip to content

Burp Cloths for Lady Jane

January 15, 2013

So, I took the pictures for this post. I plugged my memory card into the computer. Then I clicked on “delete”. Why? Apparently I thought the button said “import”… Then I took the pictures again. Plugged my memory card into the computer and actually imported the new pictures, only to discover that the first batch had, in fact, imported already somehow. Do you ever have days that start like that? It makes me want to climb back in bed and start all over. But instead, I’m going forward with this post and hoping that I got the annoying part of the day out of the way.

Burp Cloths

It’s hard to stay annoyed when looking at something so cute as these burp cloths. That’s right, burp cloths. Of course, I’m guessing anyone reading this who has actually had a baby is thinking I’m crazy for spending my time making something so frivolously cute. But I figure, if Lady Jane must undergo the indignity of regular burpings, she might as well have the comfort of a stylish accessory to ease the embarrassment. Besides, this is my first time having one of these little pips, I think I’m entitled to a pass for make these unnecessarily adorable necessaries. After all, I made sure they were washable.

Burp Cloths2 You’ll notice I also added some little tags to each end of some of them. Babies are into these, so I’ve heard. Generally, I don’t like too many ruffles and too much frill, even for little girls, but a little bit of style is important. Of course, I also added my own tags. In case any other lady-babies are curious about the designer. I imagine burp cloths are like purses for babies, right? Hmmm, I get the feeling that having a baby is going to be a HUGE learning experience for me… Either way, these are going to look cute in a little stack on the changing table!

By the by, that elephant-giraffe-birdie fabric is my favorite baby fabric to date. LOVE the colors, the animals, everything about it. I still have plenty to make a blanket, but I should have bought more to make a crib sheet or something. For some reason I am really drawn to elephants lately. I’m sure they’ll pop up again soon. The bicycle fabric I picked out for dad. I wonder if I could find something, maybe art, of an elephant riding a bicycle… Best of both worlds!

Burp Cloths3

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2013 12:43 pm

    adorable!

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    January 15, 2013 2:03 pm

    Oh that silky tab makes me wish I were getting one! (Burp cloth, not baby. I’ll borrow yours for a bit.)

  3. January 15, 2013 2:09 pm

    These are really cute!!!

  4. Grandma permalink
    January 15, 2013 3:43 pm

    Really cute you will need these………fun thing wish I had done that fifty years ago..Ha
    Love you
    Grandma

  5. Rose permalink
    January 15, 2013 4:43 pm

    Melissa, your writing is as adorable as Lady Jane’s cloths! Absolutely enjoyable to read and look at!

  6. Mom permalink
    January 15, 2013 9:07 pm

    These are oh too cute! I shared with everyone here in Palm Springs. The orders are going to be pouring in. Love you, Mom

  7. February 8, 2013 1:49 am

    super cute burp cloths..

Leave a Reply

