Skip to content

Timmy’s Christmas Sweater

January 14, 2013

I started a tradition of making Timmy a sweater every year for Christmas. Since this is the only sweater he usually gets for the year, it’s really not that crazy difficult. Or so you’d think… Even when I start in October (like this year), I still end up rushing to finish at the last minute. This year was no different. Fortunately, I managed to finish before we left for Michigan, barely.

Timmy's Sweater 13-2

The nice thing about knitting for Timmy is that he wears and appreciates anything I make for him. His last two Christmas sweaters have definitely been worn more than enough to make the knitting worth it. Even this year’s sweater has been worn several times and it’s only half way through January. And I don’t just mean around the house. Last weekend he wore it to go out with friends, in public. I’m so happy he likes it! I’ve already started picking out patterns for next Christmas – maybe he’ll get two – there are some nice patterns out there!

Timmy's Sweater 13

Speaking of that, this sweater was knit using Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Basic Raglan Construction from her book Knitting Without Tears. It’s a great book – I highly recommend it. She includes formulas and basic instructions for making all kinds of things, but the details are up to you. I went with a reverse stockinette stitch on the sleeves and a regular stockinette on the body. I also added the button placket rather than going with a crew neck. I really like the way it came out, I just wish I would have made it a tad bigger… There’s always next year!

IMG_3699And while I’m at it – I also finished a pair of socks for Timmy, my last pair of adult socks for a while… He wanted another pair, and he asks for knitwear so infrequently I couldn’t say no. Now you have seen all of my Christmas knitting… I guess I’ll have to quick finish a few projects!

Ravelry Links: Timmy’s Sweater | Timmy’s Socks

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia permalink
    January 14, 2013 12:13 pm

    I really like that sweater! How much would it cost to buy one from you for Adam?

    • January 15, 2013 12:38 pm

      A LOT haha… Though, Adam is a part of the family now, maybe he will get one for Christmas one year. Go Team In-Laws!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    January 14, 2013 4:29 pm

    Nice sweater!! handsome model too. haha.

    • January 15, 2013 12:39 pm

      I tried to reserve my usual comments about how handsome he is for this post… It was tough!

  3. January 14, 2013 4:35 pm

    This looks amazing such a neat knit (haha!)
    I wouldn’t have guessed it’s handmade, so precise every stitch is!!!

  4. Rose permalink
    January 14, 2013 7:49 pm

    I agree with newtorontomom – your stitching is perfect! And yes, Timmy is so cute! What’s he reading?

    • January 15, 2013 12:43 pm

      He’s reading “Be Prepared: A Practical Handbook for New Dads”. He’s an over-preparer, so it was a perfect Christmas gift for him. I’m just glad one of us is an over-preparer…

Leave a Reply

