Skip to content

A Woodsy Warmer

January 8, 2013

IMG_3702

Boy, baby projects sure are quick and adorable! This little topper took me all of a few hours to knit up. I think it will fit Baby Jane around 6 months to 1 year… Haha, I have a LOT to learn about baby sizing. I have no idea how big/tiny a baby is, or how quickly one grows. I do know that this is going to fit her at some point though!

IMG_3703The colors seemed woodsy, as in forrest friends, to me, whatever that means. I just imagine Baby Jane in brown striped leggings and little boots playing with a squirrel (fake, obviously) in this sweater. I like to imagine what people are doing when they wear things I make for them. For example, Timmy’s Christmas Sweater last year was a basic brown cardigan, which I named “The Professor”, so I imagined him reading a book and smoking a pipe in it. Not that he ever smokes a pipe, especially not inside, sitting in the winged back chair I also imagined. But it makes the knitting go by quickly, especially when it’s something uncomplicated.

The pattern I used here is Striped Smock Top by Erika Flory. I used worsted weight cotton yarn – Debbie Bliss Cathay and ONLine Linie 12 Clip. The yarn was from my stash – Great Stash Down of 2013 Woot! Woot! Well, technically not… This sweater is made with stash yarn, but I finished it right after Christmas 2012, and I didn’t include the yarn in my 2013 stash analysis. So, while it did make a teensy, weensy dent in my stash, it doesn’t count for this year. I wouldn’t want to kick off the GSD13 with a lie, after all. Considering how quick and simple this pattern was, I will probably give it a second spin using Official Stash Yarn sometime soon.

Check it out on my Ravelry Page: Mel-is-swell’s Woodsy Warmer

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2013 11:18 am

    Love this!! Adorable!

  2. Aunt Tricia permalink
    January 8, 2013 1:31 pm

    Well I always like.to.light a fire in the wood stove and sit in my rocking chair when I’m wearing my fingerless mittens.

  3. January 8, 2013 3:14 pm

    So sweet 😉
    All babies grow at their own pace. Mine is bigger than most, always ahead of whatever the label on his clothes say…

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    January 8, 2013 4:46 pm

    Adorable. I’m picturing a tiny Melissa in brown leggings, that sweater and glasses, haha. So cute!!

Leave a Reply

