Skip to content

Thanks Giving {60}

January 4, 2013

This is the first Friday of Thanks Giving in the new year and I already have a LOT to be thankful for!

First – the trivial – I am thankful for tortilla chips and salsa. Yum! When I was in high school I ate a big bowl of chips and salsa just about every day after school. I’m not quite that crazy now, but sometimes no other snack will do. I mean, I could just eat chips, but it seems much healthier to be eating a side of veggies with my chips. Right?

Second, I am thankful for all of the safe traveling over the holidays. We had excellent road conditions and traffic both to and from Michigan over Christmas. We didn’t even have trouble getting in or out of Philadelphia on New Year’s Eve. Shocking! Every one we know made it to their destinations safely.

Third, I am thankful for the fun New Year’s Eve party Tricia and Adam (sister- and brother-in-law) hosted. We had a great time! Usually we stay in, but this was a good excuse for a change, especially since it’s our last year without kids. The food was delicious, the company was fun and, of course, our hosts were the best! Thank you!

Fourth, I am thankful for the Twilight Zone marathon the Sci-fi (Syfy?) channel does over New Years Eve/Day every year. Timmy and I thought we had seen just about every episode, but we caught a couple new ones this year. What a good show that was.

Fifth, I am thankful that Timmy has been helping me get started writing! Not only has he been encouraging me, as usual, but now he’s actually offering ideas. He’s a great ideas man, haha! I even started writing something, albeit only a tiny bit. It’s nice to have a helpful, creative and funny husband. I’m relying on him to supply the jokes/humor for this writing attempt. I’ll even share credit. Thanks Timmy!

Finally, I am thankful for all the babies we are adding to our (extended) family! We just found out about one more and Timmy and I couldn’t be more excited! It’s going to be nice having other babies around for our little one to play with. Congratulations mom and dad!!

What are you thankful for this week?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    January 4, 2013 3:45 pm

    Of course, I’m thankful for all the new babies on the way!! I’m thankful for Rose and Joe…their parties are so much fun!! Thankful I got to spend NYEve in Philly at Adam and Tricia’s great party and it was fun having all those people wish us Happy New Year on the walk to the car.
    And, I’m intrigued and excited that you are writing even a tiny little something!!

  2. Rose permalink
    January 4, 2013 5:12 pm

    We’re thankful for you too MK and Tim! I love that Melissa reminded me to be thankful for chips and salsa – absolutely delicious!
    I’m thankful for New Years Resolutions (especially while it’s still January and they seem so doable!) I’m also thankful to have the BEST nieces and nephews and now great nieces and nephews!! Thanks to the Goodmans for a fun party on NYE – we loved the food (clearly we loved the drinks!) and all of the details to make the party so nice – like the “kisses for midnight” and the mints!
    PS – Melissa, I have madeleine pans if you want to borrow them – and/or make them together some Friday.
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  3. January 4, 2013 6:31 pm

    love Twilight Zone! And, I, too, saw one I had never seen before. Crazy! Love you and love the gratitude!

Leave a Reply

