Skip to content

Happy New Year!!

January 1, 2013

Here we are at the beginning of another year – a good time to look forward. I’m not big on making resolutions, but I do like setting goals and making “to do” lists. There are usually about 5 million things I’d like to do, but I try to keep my real list challenging, but reasonable. Here are a few things I’d like to accomplish this year:

1 – Knit a cable sweater. I kind of hate knitting cables, but I love the way they look. So this year I’m going to suck it up and make a whole cable sweater. Who knows, maybe I’ll like cabling once I get into the swing of it…  Don’t worry, there are plenty of baby projects on my list too, but they’re so tiny that even with cables they’re not as intimidating.

2 – Make tiramisu and madeleines. Two of my favorite sweet treats that I have yet to attempt.

3 – Spend more time writing. I’ve wanted to write a book since I graduated high school, and I even tried once. That was an epic failure of effort, skill and ideas… But I’m hoping that this is the year that will get me going. I’m sure I won’t have a book written by the end of this year or even next year, but if I can get in the habit of writing regularly I’ll be happy. If all goes well you might even get to read my progress here!

4 – Have a baby!! I am pretty sure that baby projects will dominate the first few months of the year, and figuring out how to take care of this baby will take up the rest of the year. The nursery still needs lots of work, but I’m confident we’ll have it ready when little baby Jane makes her appearance. Timmy and I can’t wait!

What do you want to do this year?

 

PS – HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    January 1, 2013 10:22 am

    My resolutions:
    weight loss
    write regularly to Fred iii
    grow enough to preserve some garden produce this year
    read every book on the book club list
    finish Julie’s quilt

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    January 1, 2013 10:23 am

    Happy Birthday to Melissa’s dad. Happy New Year!

  3. January 1, 2013 10:55 am

    Happy New Year to you and Timmy! I wish you the best for 2013 and all the years after that.

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    January 1, 2013 12:38 pm

    Happy Birthday, Dave!!
    Happy New Year to All

Leave a Reply

