Skip to content

Sunny Day Dress

December 18, 2012

So, this may not be seasonally appropriate, but gosh is it ever cute! I finally finished up most of my Christmas knitting and had time to knit a little something for my baby girl. It feels like it’s been a while since I’ve been able to show off any knitting…

IMG_3651

Baby Duck will be born in the spring, so I wanted to make something she could wear in the summer and maybe into the fall. A dress is perfect because as the weather gets cooler she can wear long sleeves and tights underneath, or leggings if the dress gets too short. The booties were a quick addition because I have plenty of this yarn left (Plymouth Yarn Baby Boutique). In fact, I think I have enough yarn to make a little sweater or something too. Won’t it be fun when I can post pictures of these knits ON the precious baby girl?!

2012-12-18

The pattern I used for the dress is b18-9 knitted dress by Drops Designs (free!) and the booties are Saartje’s Boottees by Saartje de Bruijn (free!). I slightly modified both – the booties because I wanted mary janes rather than criss-cross straps; and the dress because I don’t know how to crochet properly. The dress is supposed to have a crocheted edging, but I didn’t know how to follow the directions so I improvised my own ruffled crochet edging. I think it turned out fine. If you’re reading this, Emily (sister-in-law), I have two crochet things I’d like you to teach me over Christmas, so come prepared!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia G. permalink
    December 18, 2012 12:31 pm

    So adorable!! I love it!!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    December 18, 2012 5:15 pm

    So cute, Melissa!! I can’t wait to see Jane in it.

  3. Rose permalink
    December 18, 2012 10:15 pm

    So pretty! I love thinking about the little duckling!

  4. December 19, 2012 12:00 pm

    Absolutely adorable! Look at those tiny booties! 🙂

  5. Ann Marie permalink
    December 27, 2012 10:18 am

    The shoes are my favorite. What about a bonnet? Only the very young get away with wearing bonnets anymore. Maybe Jane can bring them back into fashion?

Leave a Reply

