Skip to content

Our Christmas Tree 2012 Edition

December 17, 2012

As I have mentioned before, we are not going to have a traditional Christmas tree this year. We will be traveling during the holidays and it just didn’t make sense to spend the money if we won’t be able to really sit back and enjoy it. Plus, a giant fire hazard is not something I want to be worried about while I’m spending time with my family…

IMG_3641

Enter our make-shift Christmas tree! It has all the elements of a tree – wood branches, pine boughs, pine cones, ornaments, lights – but it has it’s own personality. Timmy and I took a walk one (very windy) afternoon and picked up sticks around the neighborhood. I stuck them to the wall using Command hooks, and then I strung up lights, ornaments, and little pine boughs from our garland. When the sticks were hanging on the wall alone, it looked pretty silly… I think Timmy questioned my sanity when he saw it. But the next day he came home from work and everything was finished and looked great! Sometimes I need these little reminders that the middle of a project is always a mess. It’s hard to see the end result and it often looks like it won’t work out. I just pressed onward and once the lights were up it already looked better.

IMG_3644

I’m happy with the way this turned out. The gifts will sit nicely at the base of the fireplace, once I get to wrapping them… I might have to do something like this next year, even though we will hopefully be getting a regular tree too.

And just for fun, here is a picture of the wreath I made for our front door. I wired together some fake boxwood boughs. They looked more realistic than the fake pine at the craft store, so the decision was practically made for me. It makes me happy whenever I open the door!

IMG_3581

I hope your house is looking festive too!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    December 17, 2012 9:19 am

    I think you should send this to Martha Stetwart, I’m sure she would love the idea! It is beautiful and you are so talented. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Love, Mom

  2. Auntie Pam permalink
    December 17, 2012 9:47 am

    How beautiful! I agree with your mother, this is diffinately a Martha Stewart moment. Merry Christmas! Auntie Pam

  3. December 17, 2012 10:14 am

    Oh, my, Martha Stewart was the first thing I thought of. You are sooooo creative! Love your decorating ideas and love your commentary, as usual! I still say you could do a column for a newspaper or a magazine. Can hardly wait to hear what you write about when your baby comes. I think it is your positive attitude about life that really comes through your writings and it is contagious. Merry Christmas, Melissa! Praying for safe travel for you & Tim. Also for Michael and Emily.

  4. December 17, 2012 10:39 am

    Love, love, love it you are so talented!! I am so happy that you are coming home soon. I can’t wait to see you.

  5. Ann Marie permalink
    December 17, 2012 11:14 am

    Beautiful!

  6. December 17, 2012 1:21 pm

    LOVE the tree!

Leave a Reply

