Skip to content

Thanks Giving {58}

December 7, 2012

I bet you can guess what I’m thankful for this week… I am thankful for a healthy growing little baby girl. The nurse took her time making sure to find every part, see that it was working, and measure it. I didn’t really know what to expect, and it took quite a while. That was fine with me though! I’d rather make sure everything was okay, plus it meant I got to see my little pippette for a whole hour. By the end she had had enough poking though. She refused to move her arm from the snuggled up position in front of her face for one last picture. Oh man, she is so SO so cute!

I had tried to mentally prepare myself (and Timmy, against his will) for any problems or complications that might be discovered. There are a few, minor, issues on my side of the family and I didn’t want to panic in the office if anything went wrong. Better to be prepared for the worst than expect nothing bad, right? Thank God nothing was wrong!! Every time the nurse found something she would explain it to us (and the student who was sitting in) and it was always good news!!

I am thankful that God changed my mind and made me want a girl. When I first found out I was pregnant I wanted a boy. Maybe you’re not supposed to say that… I just always wanted a big brother, and boys seemed easier to raise. It seemed like a good way to start. As time went on I started to think that a girl wouldn’t be so bad, they do get to wear all those adorable little ruffly dresses, after all. And by the time we got to the ultrasound I was (secretly?) hoping for a girl, and there she was! Thank God I changed my mind!

I am thankful Timmy held my hand through most of the appointment. For a non-toucher, that’s a big deal haha… I am also thankful that Timmy’s family has been a little more open to hugging lately. I’m going to have to thank Timmy’s sister Tricia and especially her husband Adam for that one. I’m sure there might be a few more happy hugs with the baby, but Tricia and Adam are the real force behind this movement. Thank you!! I’m loving it!

What are you thankful for this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia permalink
    December 7, 2012 4:56 pm

    Aw; you’re going to make me cry! Thanks for the shout-out. Adam and I are so happy for you too!!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    December 7, 2012 4:58 pm

    I’m thankful the baby is healthy and that you and Timmy are so happy she’s a girl. I think first born daughters are pretty awesome, and I’m pretty sure you agree!

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    December 7, 2012 4:59 pm

    P.S. I’m learning to love hugs too. So, thanks Tricia and Adam.

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    December 7, 2012 5:00 pm

    P.P.S
    I also think 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th born daughters are also awesome. And, of course, all boys are awesome too. (There, I think I covered everyone!)

  5. Ann Marie permalink
    December 7, 2012 6:45 pm

    Congratulations to everyone reading, esp. Tim and Melissa. So she is camera shy? Too cute!

  6. Rose permalink
    December 7, 2012 8:48 pm

    Thankful for little Pippette – so happy everyone is happy! Thankful for Advent too! Thankful for an expanding family!

Leave a Reply

