Skip to content

Thanks Giving {57}

November 30, 2012

This week I am thankful for a healthy baby! At least, as far as we know… I had a check up on Monday and the little heart was beating strong and fast. Next week we will have the ultrasound to check in on the little pip and see that everything is growing and developing properly. Oh, and we’ll find out whether the pip is a boy or a girl!! Can’t wait for that!! Did you notice my new countdown to the duckling on the right column?

I am thankful for the new crib and dresser that arrived this afternoon. The nursery is mostly cleaned out, just a couple more things to move. Then all we have to do is paint, put up some new blinds/curtains, decorate, find a rug, get everything else for the baby, deliver the baby… Okay, so we have a lot more to do. But I am thankful that after almost 5 months of waiting, and not being sure if anything was happening at all, something is happening! I am feeling the baby’s little wiggles every now and then, my belly is getting bigger, and now we have a crib. I didn’t even cry when the guys finished putting it together!

I am thankful that Timmy is so sweet and supportive. Even though it’s harder for him to bond with the baby, he is trying (I may or may not have insisted, haha). We rarely argue because he knows how to talk about things with sensitivity and understanding. I have a natural guilt that pretty much lives in my head, but he doesn’t ever make me feel bad or take advantage of that, even when I am at fault. I’m the luckiest wife ever. Did I mention he’s good looking? Haha, I know, enough already! But every single day I am thankful that he picked me. Just ask him, he gets sick of hearing it too…

I am thankful for the nice long chat I had with my grandmother on Wednesday. She’s so cool. It was nice being able to just talk about the family and different hobbies we are enjoying. Boy do I miss being only a couple miles away…

Finally, I am thankful for our first (and only) Christmas card!! Shout out to Aunt Beth, Uncle Mike and the family! I’m excited to finally get to use our new Christmas Card bulletin board. Wow, that reminds me, I better get to work on ours…

What are you thankful for this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 4:31 pm

    I am thankful that we get to find out what that little peanut inside you is!!

    I am also thankful that at night I can sneak into Aaden’s room when he is sleeping and just stare at him. A peaceful him, sometimes it is a little overwhelming durning the day when he is awake and I like the few minutes at night that I stand and watch him breathing and know that he can in fact be quiet.

    I am also thankful for his excitement in Santa this year. I just love the wonder and joy in his big beautiful blue eyes when we talk about him. And the shear fear he has when he is being bad and we tell him we are going to make a call to Santa. Ahhh the little things in life.

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    November 30, 2012 4:48 pm

    You didn’t cry when the crib was put together, but I teared up reading about it. Timmy was the first baby I ever fell in love with. I am so excited for another great nephew (or niece.)

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    November 30, 2012 5:44 pm

    I remember staring into the brand new empty crib wondering if I would be able to actually mother a child. I’m so excited for you both, Melissa. And confident you’ll be wonderful parents! Can’t wait to find out WHO is in there!!

  4. Aunt Martha permalink
    November 30, 2012 6:09 pm

    I am thankful you share so much on your blog! Thank you! Gabby and I enjoy reading all of your posts! We are so excited for you and Timmy and can’t wait to see you both at Christmas.

  5. MaryAnn permalink
    November 30, 2012 8:11 pm

    Sounds like you are doing beautifullly Melissa! Such a wonderful husband you have! God is good! glad your pregnancy is going well!

  6. Aunt Beth permalink
    November 30, 2012 9:34 pm

    Glad we were the 1st card – that means we win, right? 16 years ago today, my first born Mikey arrived! Our experimental child…… I am so thankful for all that he has taught me. It’s amazing how that little boy changed Uncle Mike and I – and he even allowed us to make room for the others. We are so excited for you both – and Katie is praying really hard it’s a girl next week!

Leave a Reply

