Skip to content

The First Snow

November 28, 2012

I’ll be honest with you – I’m not really feeling in the Christmas spirit this year. I should be; I love winter and the whole holiday season. With a baby on the way I should be feeling all the more excited and nostalgic. But I don’t. I took down the fall decorations and started putting up Christmas. I listen to the all Christmas radio station. I took an evening walk with Timmy up to see the big Christmas tree in front of City Hall. I’m only going through the motions though – my heart just isn’t in it yet.

Yesterday we had the first real snow here in Bethlehem, PA. Something stirred. There is something magical about the first snow. I feel like a child again, I want to pull on a sweater, an extra pair of socks, wrap up in a blanket and sit by the window with some peppermint cocoa just watching it fall. At first, you wonder, is it going to stick? It’s so wet and heavy, there’s no way it will stick. Then the first few tiny piles start accumulating on the leaves you didn’t get a chance to sweep, and on the dead plants in the garden you didn’t get out to pull. Before you know it, a thin sparkling layer of slushy snow is building on the sidewalk. It’s beautiful.

I know everyone says winter is the season of death. Spring is the season of rebirth, summer is the season of life, fall is the season of harvest, but winter is for death. It sounds so horribly depressing. Having been born in January I prefer a different characterization of winter. It’s the season of magic and possibility for me. With icicles glittering on the branches; fresh snow making the world a pure clean white canvas; fires crackling, cocoa steaming, beef stew filling the house with it’s warm comforting aroma – who’s thinking about death? Not me!

I’m thinking about rosy cheeks and a red nose atop a smile so big you can hardly believe a simple slide down a hill caused it. I’m thinking about balancing a cup of tea on one knee and a book on the other as the a big fluffy blanket is pulled around me. I’m thinking about the socks and mittens drying on the radiator. I’m thinking about those times when the winer-mood strikes and you share an extra snuggle or laugh or moment with someone special. Everything is quiet and dim and you feel like you have to whisper so you don’t disturb the perfect peace that has finally settled over the world.

While I’m still waiting to be filled with my usual holiday cheer, I have begun to feel the stir of winter magic in my heart. There’s nothing quite like it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Rose permalink
    November 28, 2012 10:36 am

    Love this post – and I love Winter……don’t forget that Thanksgiving was early this year and Advent doesn’t begin til Sunday, so you’re really not behind on the holiday cheer – you’re really ahead of it all!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

    • November 28, 2012 10:50 am

      That’s right, I realized last week in church that there is an extra week. Thank goodness!

  2. Mom permalink
    November 28, 2012 10:36 am

    The new photo of you and Tim is beautiful you both look wonderful! Thanks for sharing!
    Love, Mom

    • November 28, 2012 10:52 am

      Thanks Mom! It’s crazy to me how huge my belly seems to me, but it doesn’t look like it in any of the pictures… Last night Timmy even said, “wow, that belly is getting big!” Haha…

  3. November 28, 2012 5:32 pm

    Beautifully written, Melissa. I’m tellin’ ya, you should do a column for a publication. I felt all the feelings you described in this piece. Almost made me want to have our first snow. Almost! Love you!

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    November 29, 2012 6:25 pm

    My new favorite post. I missed this in my inbox yesterday but Rose mentioned it thankfully. You draw such pretty pictures with words.

Leave a Reply

