Skip to content

DIY Painted Candle Holders

November 15, 2012

I like candles. I have several. I rarely light them. Why? I like the glow and atmosphere they create. I don’t mind the low light. I even like the scented ones. I have no real fear of burning my house down by forgetting to blow them out. And yet, I only light them when the power goes out or I’m having a party. Even at party time I sometimes forget to light them. What is the deal? I’m going to make an effort to light my candles more often. I’m not even going to wait for New Year’s Day to start.

These fun, DIY vases will definitely help. I only have half of this little display area complete and I already want to light these candles every evening. The vases/candle holders were quick, simple and inexpensive to make. Here’s what I did:

1 – Gather your materials. You should be able to get your vases at 50% off at whatever craft store you go to if you time it right. Mine cost about $6 for all three. You’ll need to save rubber bands every time you purchase produce. I guess you could just buy some rubber bands, but where’s the fun in that? A lot of asparagus and celery went into the making of my vases…
2 – Layer the rubber bands around the vases. I concentrated mine in the center of each vase, the original version I saw on Pinterest uses thinner bands all over the vase. Do what you want.
3 – Spray paint your vases. I turned mine upside-down so the opening was against the ground. That way the paint didn’t spray inside the vase and get in the way of the clean rubber band lines I wanted. I did 1 coat, mostly because my can of spray paint was empty… If I were using a fresh can I would probably do 2 coats.
4 – When the paint is dry, remove the rubber bands. I found that my paint chipped easily when I tried lifting the bands off over the top. So I went in with scissors, being sure to pull the band far enough away from the vase that the scissors didn’t chip the paint. This resulted in many snaps to my leg. When I got to the last rubber band I set the vase on the floor and was able to avoid the snap… I’d start out with that method.
5 – Finally, I added a layer of sealer because I didn’t want all my “hard work” to be for naught. And by hard work, I obviously mean red, welt-covered thigh. I waited until the rubber bands were off to seal the paint because I didn’t want to seal the rubber bands on. If your paint is not chipping easily, go ahead and skip the sealer.

The nice thing about these vases is that they can be used as vases, with water, because the paint is on the outside. They can be styled for any season or holiday. You can paint them any color you want. I have some metallic silver spray paint I almost wish I would have used instead… But that’s for another project.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 15, 2012 9:55 am

    They are beautiful! Love, Mom

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    November 15, 2012 7:08 pm

    Those are really pretty. I would never have thought paint would stick to glass.

Leave a Reply

