Skip to content

Joy Card Display

November 14, 2012

It’s not quite Christmas decorating time at our house, but yesterday I got a jump start on some Christmas and winter themed projects. The first one I’m going to show you is this simple card display. We love getting Christmas cards! In Timmy’s family they rank the cards they receive based on a completely subjective and arbitrary set of standards (e.g. art, religious content (that’s a plus), family photo setting/timeliness, etc). While I enjoy ranking things as much as the next girl, I like seeing all the different styles and art that people choose more (and of course, updated family photos).

The last couple years I have displayed our cards on a tree style hanger made with dowels strung together on ribbons, but it’s a little finicky and had to hang it somewhere that didn’t get a lot of traffic or the cards would blow/slide off. Time for something new. Enter this simple display that I can hang right on our coat closet door so we can see it more often and be reminded of our wonderful family and friends.

Just hot glue the fabric to a foam board or cork board and embellish. If you don’t own a glue gun, use regular glue or even a stapler might work. I embellished mine with a couple pieces of ribbon and felt letters. JOY, because that’s what Christmas is all about, and that’s what I feel when I open another card. I didn’t want to add too much because it’s going to be mostly covered with cards in a few weeks anyway. If you use a fabric with a pattern, you might not want to add any embellishment at all. Super simple! Bonus, this project was a freebie because I already had all the materials on hand!

I used foam board so I could attach the cards with thumbtacks. If you have some other sturdy material on hand, you could always try glueing clothes pins or some other kind of clip onto the board to attach the cards. Be creative!

I’m happy I was able to get this project done this week, since I assume people will be mailing their Christmas cards out the weekend after Thanksgiving. No? I am just starting to plan our cards, so they won’t be out next week either… When do you mail your holiday greetings?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    November 14, 2012 12:54 pm

    I may send you a card this year! I won’t send one to the other Duckworth’s because they are so judgy, and I never win, and I hate losing, so I won’t play. But you sound like you are pretty nice about Christmas cards. I’ll give myself until January to get it to you. 🙂

    • November 14, 2012 2:06 pm

      I love all the Christmas cards equally! I won’t even judge you for tardiness. Unless it’s June…

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    November 14, 2012 2:03 pm

    I ordered mine!! It’s definitely a winner!!! Oh yes, that’s right, the judging has already started.

Leave a Reply

