Skip to content

Stripey Slouchy Socks

November 8, 2012

I seem to have come down with sock fever. It probably has something to do with the chillier weather and the fact that they are so simple to knit and cozy to wear. Regardless, here is my latest production. These were knit with superwash wool (Cascade 220 Superwash, excellent) and have already been washed twice. I’m willing to admit that they were worn about 3 times between washings too. That’s not weird or gross. Wool has natural anti-bacterial qualities, so it’s totally okay. It’s not like wearing the same underwear three times before washing. Unless you wore wool underwear I guess, but even then…

I seem to have gotten off track. I think what I’m trying to say is that even after wear and washing, the yarn looks great. No pills or anything to deal with. Apparently, my once-black leggings are a different story. Funny the things you don’t notice until you see them in a photo… I think my expanding belly and the fact that none of my pants fit anymore (even though I’m still not showing that much) are pretty good excuses for over-worn and faded leggings. They are practically a uniform for me right now.

Unfortunately, I’m running out of knitting projects to show off… Not because I don’t have any, but because Christmas knitting season is upon me and the last minute panic has settled in. I finished one gift over the weekend and it came out so cute that I’m tempted to post it anyway, but I won’t. At least, not until after Christmas. I do have a couple fun Christmas decorating related projects planned, so hopefully I’ll have those ready for you soon!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. megan permalink
    November 8, 2012 3:33 pm

    man theses look amazing!! and so comfy!!!

  2. Mom permalink
    November 8, 2012 3:47 pm

    24 degrees here in Michigan this morning. These socks would have come in handy! They look wonderful. I hope the baby has a matching pair.

    • November 9, 2012 1:31 pm

      Don’t worry, the baby will have several by the time he/she makes an appearance. I’ve already made a pair of cashmere blend socks for him/her. Nothin’ but the best for my duckling haha!

Leave a Reply

