Skip to content

Christmas Mittens

November 7, 2012

I know, Christmas?! We haven’t even eaten the Thanksgiving turkey! Well, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Thanksgiving, but for some reason I am a little overwhelmed by how quickly Christmas is approaching. I did not start my Christmas knitting early enough… All that to say, Christmas has been on my mind. Last year for Christmas, my mom gave me a kit to make felt Christmas mitten ornaments. I stuck it somewhere in the craft room so I could find it for this year, and it’s a good thing I have been cleaning that room out because I never would have found it otherwise.

That’s pretty common in my family. I can remember hearing my mom or grandma say, “I got the cutest thing for you, I just can’t remember where I hid it.” Anyone out there reading/watching Game of Thrones? The families all have house words, like Winter Is Coming, or Hear Me Roar. If our family had house words they would be, Where’d I Put That? As luck would have it, I actually found the kit in time to make the mittens. They are adorable! I can’t wait to hang them on a little mitten garland somewhere when it’s not way too early for Christmas decorations. Or maybe they’ll go to some lucky friend or family member… I guess we’ll see!

Are you getting in the Christmas mood yet or is it still too early?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Pam permalink
    November 7, 2012 1:55 pm

    Cute! Someone told me today that she is decorating for Christmas on Saturday – that’s this Saturday – 3 days from now! I’m not ready.

  2. November 7, 2012 3:06 pm

    Yeah, I’m getting into full swing Christmas preparedness 😛
    http://yellowmae.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/getting-ready-for-christmas-week-one-with-free-gift-planner-printable/
    I love your reference to you family’s house words! Haha I think ours would be the same;-)

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    November 7, 2012 3:17 pm

    Really adorable!! As much as I’d like them, I would keep them if I were you!!

  4. Tricia G. permalink
    November 7, 2012 5:13 pm

    Very cute! Do you have any Christmas, Kitten Mittens?

    • November 8, 2012 3:34 pm

      Haha, I was trying to figure out how kitten mittens could work into this post, but it just didn’t make it…

  5. Ann Marie permalink
    November 7, 2012 5:56 pm

    They are so cute. Are they two layers of felt? Did you do the stitching yourself? by hand?

    • November 8, 2012 3:36 pm

      There are two layers of felt so the messy back is covered. I did do the stitching myself, by hand, but don’t be too impressed. The kit came with printed patterns, so I didn’t design the pictures myself. I made some felt ornaments last year that I did all on my own though, so being mildly impressed is appropriate haha…

  6. Rose permalink
    November 8, 2012 9:42 am

    They are super cute and make me think of the little Duckling!

Leave a Reply

