Skip to content

Thanks Giving {53}

November 2, 2012

Whao – I almost forgot to write this post!! Thanks to Timmy for reminding me! There are so many things to be thankful for too, what was I thinking?!

I am so thankful that the storm didn’t harm our family or do any major damage to our house! It was pretty wild to watch the trees blowing. And driving around the next day was interesting, lots of down trees and stop lights out. I am thankful that we only lost power for 1 day! Watching all of the coverage of the Jersey Shore and NYC is a big reminder that things could be so much worse. Pray for those people still trapped or dealing with damage and power outages!

I am thankful that when our power was out we were able to get warm and showered at Nanny and Pop’s house (Timmy’s grandparents). They even made delicious soup for us for dinner! Technically I think we should be thankful to Uncle Tom and Aunt Lisa for bringing the soup to them, too. Thank you! Also thank you Tim and MaryKay (Timmy’s parents) for letting us stay with you rather than spend a chilly night at home!

I am thankful that Timmy was offended when he saw the latest commercial for Carter’s. If you haven’t seen it, it’s for a baby clothes store, and the tag line is something like, “When a baby is born, so is a mom,” and has scenes of a mom reading to her baby, playing, sending the child to kindergarten etc. Timmy was mad that the dad was just a background figure apparently not important in the raising of the child. Of course, they are probably not marketing to dads. Timmy doesn’t buy his own clothes, let alone clothes for baby, but it’s nice to know that he’s planning to be pretty involved in taking care of the new duckling.

Finally, I am thankful for cake!! We were in the mood, so when the power came back on I made a basic white cake with chocolate almond frosting. I am especially thankful that I have Nanny’s chocolate and white cake recipes so I can make a perfectly delicious cake any time. Yum! This weekend I’m hoping to make soup – chicken noodle for Timmy and butternut squash for me. Perfect for the cool weather we’ve been having!

What are you thankful for this week?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

