Skip to content

Be Prepared!

October 29, 2012

I imagined you singing that title a la Scar from the Lion King, so if you didn’t feel free to go back and start again. Whether you sing aloud or in your head I’ll leave to your discretion, but you should probably sing the whole song, including hyena back-up vocals. It’s worth it.

If you’re not on the east coast and don’t care about national weather then perhaps you’re unaware that we are preparing for Hurricane Sandy. We are already getting rain and some wind, but nothing too scary. Technically, Bethlehem isn’t in the most dangerous zone so I don’t think we will experience the level of damage that Philadelphia and the Jersey/Delaware coast will get. I’m more worried about our power going out for several days than any serious damage to our house.

The Great Flood of 2011

I am mentally preparing to eat all all of the ice cream and popsicles in the freezer. Timmy will have to drink all of the beer in the fridge, of course. If anything does happen to our house, like the Great Flood of 2011, this is probably for the best. It turns out that his crisis management is greatly improved by a few cocktails. Chances are things will end up more like the Not-So-Great Hurricane Irene from last year, when we had limited tree damage in the area, but three days without power.

If our power is out more than a few hours, please come on over! I bought chicken in bulk last week and stuck it in the freezer because it was a good price. Once it’s thawed we will have to eat all of it… So we will be having a big chicken barbeque in our back yard, which will hopefully be in better shape than before the hurricane.  I’m hoping that the wind will just blow all of the weeds and dead plants right out of the ground and away so I don’t have to finish the clean up…

The house is pretty much cleaned up and the flashlights and batteries are ready. I even did laundry this morning, so we can look good in the dark. I know I shouldn’t say this, but I actually wouldn’t mind a day or two without power. I assume nothing productive can be done during a power outage, so I’ll have to just sit and knit by candle light. Two days of solid knitting time would be pretty helpful in the way of Christmas presents and baby knits. Having said that, I did get a decent amount of house work done today in a mad frenzy of pre-storm energy so I probably could sit and knit more than usual over the next couple days anyway…

I will try to get a post or two scheduled so you won’t be left hanging again, just in case. If I can get a post up via my phone, I’ll try to keep you updated on what’s happening around here. And to bring things full circle, be prepared!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    October 29, 2012 12:51 pm

    Good Luck, Melissa. We have a bit of pork to get through and I just roasted two half chicken breasts and veggies for dinner tonight. We can warm them in the microwave (with electricity) or the camp stove (without) tonight. I wrote a web post for imperfectwomen yesterday, since I’ve been through the loss of electricity for several days before.

    • October 29, 2012 12:59 pm

      I was thinking today that a camp stove would be a good idea, and one of those battery operated lanterns. Wish I would have thought of it yesterday… Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

