Skip to content

Catching Up

October 17, 2012

As promised, I’m back with a few things that have been keeping Timmy and I busy. Of course, life in general can sometimes be enough, but I’ll spare you the details of our new faucet and stick with the more interesting highlights.

Timmy ran with his dad, Tim, and Uncle Joe in the Philadelphia Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon. That’s the one I was supposed to run too. I decided not to at the last minute, just wasn’t feeling up to it. Do you know how far 13.1 miles is?! Really far! They had fun and ran well though. I had a lot of fun watching and cheering people on from the sidelines. I even randomly ran into someone from my high school who was running with his wife. We always have fun visiting Philly!

We spend another night in Philadelphia a couple weeks after that going to the opera with Timmy’s Aunt Rose and Uncle Joe. We saw La Bohem and I loved it! The theater was beautiful, the voices were fabulous, the friends made it all even more fun. Even Timmy enjoyed himself, optimistically saying, “It was way better than the ballet would have been.” My only disappointment was not seeing any ladies in fur, but it was a pretty warm night and fur would have been a bit too much. We also enjoyed some of Aunt Rose’s famous cooking before the show, YUM! They are the the nicest people, and so fun to chat with!

We had our first family book club gathering last Saturday. So fun! Timmy’s family is full of readers, and talkers, so a book club makes perfect sense. We read The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I hosted the gathering, so of course, the food was delicious haha… Actually, it was pretty tasty, but didn’t take too much work to put together. The discussion was interesting; it’s amazing how even people from the same family and background can have such varied opinions and approaches to a story. I think everyone had a good time and is looking forward to our next meeting! Timmy’s grandfather, Pop, was selected randomly to pick the next book and we are anxiously awaiting his decision.

There is one other thing that has been keeping Timmy and I busy and distracted lately. But you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to hear about that. Isn’t this fun? Not only am I ensuring several posts this week, but I’m also providing thrilling cliff hangers each day. Ok, many of my readers already know what tomorrow’s post will be about, but still… Tune in!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 9:43 am

    Okay is it weird that I don’t have your email or phone number stored in my phone… what happened?! Text me later, I can’t wait till tomorrow!!!

  2. Rose permalink
    October 18, 2012 8:34 am

    We were so happy to have such a handsome ad stylish couple with us at the opera!!We love when our nieces and nephews visit!
    Love,
    Joe and Rose

Leave a Reply

