Skip to content

Look Who’s Alive & Harvest Moon

October 16, 2012

It’s me! I’m alive! I’m sorry I abandoned you for so long… Boy, was I… lazy?! But here I am! Hopefully I’ll be keeping up with things a little better from now on. I’ll fill you in on what I was up to the last couple weeks tomorrow, but for now, here’s one of my latest knitting projects: My Harvest Moon.

I have been wearing this sweater a lot now that the weather has turned cooler. I love that I can pull it on with just about anything – jeans, leggings and boots, a dress. Anything comfy and cozy. Plus, it has those great pockets!! Have I ever mentioned that I LOVE pockets? I do. On anything. As a person with terminally chapped lips having even the smallest pocket to stash some chap stick makes me a happy girl.

The pattern is Harvest Moon, by Heidi Kirrmaier. It was simple to follow and only required a small amount of sewing up at the end. I made it a size bigger than I usually would just so I could potentially wear it with extra layers and just have some extra snuggle/cozy room. The yarn I used was Plymouth Homestead natural wool. This yarn is fabulous, 100% natural undyed wool, and was such a great value! This sweater only cost $30!! Anyone who suggests that people knit to save money  is clearly not a knitter. Typically enough yarn for a sweater will cost anywhere from $80 to $120. It could cost much more, but anything more than that is not in my budget; even that is an infrequent investment. So, you can imagine my excitement when I found this good quality yarn at such an excellent sale price. I bought enough for a sweater in all three available natural colors. The point of all this being – not only is this sweater warm and cozy, it was also a great deal!

Tune in tomorrow for all the details on what I’ve been up to the last couple weeks!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 9:42 am

    Beautiful!

  2. Auntie Pam permalink
    October 16, 2012 9:42 am

    I’m so glad you are back. I commented to your Mom last week that I miss you. Love the sweater!

  3. October 16, 2012 10:05 am

    I am so glad to hear from you finally 😉 Love the sweater!!

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    October 16, 2012 3:40 pm

    I’ve really been missing this blog. The sweater looks great and those pockets are amazing. I love how they curve. Can’t beat Homestead for cozy!
    Mary Kay

Leave a Reply

