Skip to content

Thanks Giving {50}

September 21, 2012

I am thankful that Timmy reminded me it was Friday! Boy, I have really lost it with the blog posting… I’m sorry. And I hate to tell you this, but it’s probably going to stay this way for a two or three more weeks. I know, what are you going to do?! Well, rest assured, when I am back I’ll be back with lots of fun things to share, so take comfort in that.

I am thankful for my sister-in-law Emily! She’s the one who’s going to have a baby (well, not until March) and she texted me to talk baby today. It was so nice! She is such a sweet girl, my brother found a good one. I know that she and Michael (my brother) will be great parents!

I am thankful for my new mandolin. It was only $8, but I can tell it will earn its keep more than some of my more expensive tools. On Wednesday I made apple chips with it, so good! And bonus, the house smelled like fall – apples and cinnamon. My apples were only okay though, I think the chips would be even better with better apples. I’ll have to try again! I also made pumpkin bread with a cream cheese ribbon through the middle. I found this recipe last year and I think it will be an annual treat. I love pretty much anything with cream cheese, and pairing it with pumpkin is an excellent combo. This time I used half white whole wheat flour. I was worried it might not be as tender, but it turned out great!  Here’s the link to the recipe I use, if you try it you won’t be disappointed: Joy of Baking Pumpkin Bread.

Finally, I am thankful for the mums I planted on my front patio. The flower pot I planted earlier this summer had about had it, so it was the perfect opportunity to replant for fall. I found a mum that was mostly buds, and this week it bloomed. It’s the prettiest deep burgundy/burnt orange color. I know the first day of fall isn’t until tomorrow, but I couldn’t wait. I need a big pumpkin to finish my welcome display, but I’m holding off until Timmy takes me to that pumpkin patch. Can’t wait!

What are you thankful for this week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2012 5:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing your gratitudes! Love them all and they always make me take a moment & be grateful for my life, the people in my life and all the things I get to do for me & others! Also, when I read your line about purchasing a mandolin for $8, I first thought, wow, is she going to take lessons? Carl plays the mandolin & for one nanosecond I got excited that maybe some day the two of you could play together. Yeah, I went way out there in that moment. But as I read on, I quickly realized it is a slicer. I had to look one up on the internet. Of course, I have seen these but never knew their official name. So, thanks for sharing a day in your life & all the goodies you make. Love you, sweet niece! Hope you have a wonderful weekend! It’s going to be beautiful here in Kansas City!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    September 21, 2012 7:07 pm

    Excellent pumpkin bread!! it really hit the spot. Michael and Emily are going to make GREAT parents…I bet they have a happy baby!!

Leave a Reply

