Skip to content

Cables for Baby

September 10, 2012

I told you I’d be back a bit more this week! Today I have some knitting to show off. As I mentioned a couple weeks ago, my brother, Michael and his wife, Emily are having a baby! I am so excited for them!! As soon as I found out I started knitting a little something for their brand new bundle of joy.

Let me first say, this was a labor of love, not pleasure… Cables are not my favorite thing to knit, which is unfortunate since I love the look of them. I figured I could handle the few little ones that this tiny baby sweater would involve. Boy was I wrong – this is riddled with mistakes, mostly on the back, thus the pictures of only the front. Only one or two are really glaringly obvious… I blame the Olympics! I made this right after I finished my Fair Isle Quest, while the Olympics were still going on. Specifically, the women’s 4×400 relay and the closing ceremonies caused the worst of the mistakes. Of course, I had to wait a little while before I could share the news with everyone, so you had to wait to see this project.

It was fun to knit something so tiny though! Whew, it makes knitting an adult sized sweater seem like it takes forever. Since they don’t know the sex of the baby yet, I didn’t sew any buttons on. I figure it does look a little boy-ish, but with pink buttons it would be perfect for a girl. I can’t wait until they find out boy or girl, I have so many knitting and sewing projects I want to make! Sorry Timmy, your sweater might have to wait just a little while longer…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    September 10, 2012 3:23 pm

    Lucky baby! That’s gorgeous. It would look so good in adult size too!

  2. aunt Betsy permalink
    September 10, 2012 6:05 pm

    That is soooo adorable. I love the color.

  3. Rose permalink
    September 11, 2012 5:29 pm

    it’s gorgeous and I love the color too.

  4. Megs permalink
    September 13, 2012 12:54 pm

    Aaden wants one Aunt Melissa!!! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Cervide Sweater Update | Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

