Skip to content

Thanks Giving {48}

September 7, 2012

I’m still here! I have been enjoying some time away from blogging… I just haven’t felt up to writing or making much. I’m sorry! I don’t like the idea of doing things just for the sake of having something to show here, I’d rather make things because I really like them and feel inspired. I have been busy knitting though, and I have a couple things to show you!! So you can look forward to a few more posts next week. For now, I’m thankful for the last couple weeks of writing rest.

I’m also thankful for Pinterest! I know, I could be thankful for that just about every week. I have really been using it as a resource for dinner recipes lately, as I have mentioned before. There have been some successes (Banana Chocolate Chunk Bread and Minestrone Soup), and some half successes (Beef and Broccoli). When things don’t turn out, well, there’s always Ellio’s  pizza! It has been fun to try new foods and techniques.

I am thankful for apples. Yum, I have been loving apples this week! Maybe it’s just because I’m so excited for fall even my taste buds are ready. I have also been craving some pumpkin flavored treats… I have a pot of orange peels and cinnamon sticks on the stove simmering to make the house smell good as I type this.

I am so thankful for the new Bic for Her pens! Gosh, it was really getting annoying having to use those hideous black and blue basic (mens) pens. Finally a pen made for me, that I can use to do all the things a woman needs a pen for, like writing grocery lists and taking notes on all the smart ideas and suggestions my husband offers… Haha, have you seen these commercials? Ridiculous. And yet, I’m thankful that the Bic pens people are creating (or saving) marketing jobs.

Finally, I am thankful that Timmy agreed to take me apple picking and to get cider and donuts and pumpkins this fall! This is one of my favorite things to do, but somehow we have never gone together. This is the year! We have to find an orchard where we can pick apples our selves, that also makes donuts and cider. I figured it would be easy because we have them all over in Michigan, but apparently that’s not the norm here in Pennsylvania. Anyone know of a good place within an hour of the Lehigh Valley?

What are you thankful for this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Pam permalink
    September 7, 2012 2:29 pm

    I was wondering about you earlier today….good to have you back. You can come to Michigan to pick apples. Spicers is on Clyde Road!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    September 7, 2012 4:33 pm

    I’m glad you’re back too. I missed seeing you this week. I don’t think they have donuts, but look up Strawberry Acres for good apple picking.

  3. Aunt Betsy permalink
    September 7, 2012 5:34 pm

    Yes!!! we went to Mackeys orchard in Warren County NJ. Excellent, inhalable cider donuts. They have a website. I don’t know if they make the donuts everyday. http://www.mackeysorchard.com Wish i had some now (along with some Fall weather).

  4. Aunt Tricia permalink
    September 8, 2012 9:08 am

    There is Linvilla Orchards. It’s about half an hour from our house. I’m not quite sure what town it’s in because we haven’t been there in a while, but used to take the kids apple picking every Fall.

Leave a Reply

