Skip to content

Thanks Giving {47}

August 31, 2012

Whew! This was a week of recovery and catch up… Last weekend we went to Buffalo, NY for a wedding. The wedding was beautiful, we had so much fun! I will have a picture or two to share with you tomorrow. For now, let me tell you why I am thankful for Timmy this week.

Last Friday we arrived in Buffalo around 9:30pm and went right out to meet up with friends. After a while I decided I wanted to go to check in to our hotel and relax a little while Timmy hung out with his friends a little longer. After a bit of an adventure around Buffalo, the worst city to navigate ever, I checked in, unpacked and turned on the TV. I fell asleep waiting for Timmy to let me know he was starting the 15 minute walk to our hotel.

At 4:44am Timmy called, he had fallen asleep in his friends room, but he was on his way to our hotel now and should be there in about 15 minutes. I sat back to wait. After about half an hour I started to get worried. Even if the walk was a little longer than he thought, it shouldn’t take this long… So I called his cell phone – straight to voice mail.

Another half an hour went by. You can imagine the thoughts going through my head; I’m going to be a widow. Timmy is dead, lying in the streets of Buffalo with no one to walk by and help him. What do I do?! I can’t call the police, they won’t do anything for me this early. I can’t go out looking for him, I have no idea what streets he would have taken. I don’t want to get myself killed too… Who can help? Timmy’s dad is the only person I know who would be awake and who could help me. I decided that if Timmy wasn’t back by 6:04am I would call. That gave him an hour and twenty minutes.

At 5:58am Timmy walked into the hotel room, “Ugh, I got lost, my phone died, I thought I was going to have to sleep on the sidewalk!” I immediately started crying and hugging him – he’s alive!! When he saw my reaction he realized what I had been going through. We were both so happy – him to have made it to the hotel, me to have him there safely. We went to bed, knowing we had to get up at a reasonable hour the next day, but it took me a while to fall asleep. This week I am thankful that Timmy is alive!

And on another happy, exciting note, I am thankful that my brother, Michael and his wife Emily are having a baby!! They went to the doctor last night and heard the little heart beat. It was beating fast, but there is some question as to whether that means it’s a girl or a boy. They both think it’s going to be a boy, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a girl. Either way, it’s going to be a baby!! Congratulations Michael and Emily! I am so thankful for the two of you and your exciting new adventure!

On a more superficial level, I am thankful that my mom and dad sent me a package this week! Inside I found a couple fall magazines – can’t wait to start the fall decorating and baking! Also inside was my very own copy of Adobe Photoshop Elements 10! I am just starting to work with it and figure everything out, but I think I am going to have a lot of fun with it!! You can do sooo much with Photoshop! Thanks Mom and Dad!

What are you thankful for this week?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    August 31, 2012 10:56 am

    Congratulations Mike and Emily!! I think boy based on heartbeat.
    Have fun with the Photoshop Melissa!!

Leave a Reply

