Skip to content

Fair Isle Quest: Complete!

August 13, 2012

The journey was not so arduous as it first seemed. I not only completed my quest with days to spare, but I also managed to do it without a single mistake! For me, that really is an accomplishment. I was nervous I would pull the yarn too tight, which would cause the color section to pucker, but I didn’t. I was worried I would run out of the gray yarn, but I didn’t (barely…). I was anxious that it wouldn’t quite fit properly, but it did! Success!! So, without further ado, I present to you – my fair isle sweater.

I LOVE this yarn, and may have to use it on many more worsted weight projects in the future. It’s soft, but not fuzzy, smooth, there were no knots or weak spots. Really nice color options. It is called Sheperd’s Wool Worsted by Stonehedge Fiber Mill (in Michigan). The pattern I used is called Aftur, by Vedis Jonsdottir. Here is a link to my Ravelry project page: mel-is-swell’s Aftur the Games. Thanks Timmy, for helping me take a few pictures!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 9:42 am

    Very nice, Mel. Your mom and were talking about your quest while watching the closing ceremonies last night. Congratulations on reaching your goal!

  2. August 13, 2012 10:00 am

    Congrats! Fair Isle has always looked far too complicated for anything I knit. Now you can conquer the knitting world!

  3. Mom permalink
    August 13, 2012 11:05 am

    What a beautiful sweater! And, you finished early! Great accomplishment. Mom

  4. August 13, 2012 11:22 am

    That is amazing it is soooo pretty. Oh and btw he still doesnt believe me about the barenaked ladies concert my job the next few days will be to find those pictures…..

  5. Mary Kay permalink
    August 13, 2012 11:43 am

    Gorgeous sweater, I want to make one too! I love your pictures, too, you look so pretty!

  6. Ann Marie permalink
    August 13, 2012 12:14 pm

    And the gold medal goes to…Melissa Duckworth! USA! USA! USA!

  7. August 13, 2012 12:42 pm

    Beautiful! You AND the sweater!

Leave a Reply

