Skip to content

What’s UP, eh?

August 7, 2012

So, as you can see I don’t have a bunch of wedding photos to show you… I know, it’s sad! I was so busy doing my matron-of-honor duties, and dancing that I didn’t take hardly any pictures. Hopefully I will get access to some good ones soon to share with you, but until then you’ll have to just believe that the wedding was beautiful and super fun without the photo evidence…

And speaking of fun, my brother-in-law, Bill, is going away to college this fall! (Like my smooth segway??) He will be attending Northern Michigan University in the beautiful Upper Peninsula (U.P.) of Michigan. The U.P. is a little bit like its own country, not quite Canada, not totally USA… People usually forget that Michigan even has an upper peninsula, even people from Michigan. But I assure you, it’s there. From the preserved wilderness, to the mountains, to the lake shores you are surrounded by natural beauty. I think yoopers (people from the U.P.) like that it’s a bit forgotten; they have the place mostly to themselves.

 

But soon Bill will be barging in to shake things up! We are sure going to miss him down here, ol’ Pennsylvania way. To help him get in the right mindset, I made him this t-shirt. In case you don’t know, they definitely have an accent in the U.P. that is completely unlike the L.P.. It’s a little more Minnesota-ish, but not so extreme. Anyway, say ya to da U.P., eh?! Eh, pronounced “ay” is a frequent sentence finisher, much like in Canada. I can’t wait until Bill comes home for the first time saying it.

 

This is going to be quite the experience for Bill, and for his mom. Her last little one is leaving home! I’m confident that Bill will make lots of friends and have fun while he’s at school. Such a nice guy is sure to do fine. Have fun at school Bill!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    August 7, 2012 3:55 pm

    Great title. The wedding was amazing and your toast was the best!! Wah, all my kids are leaving home, but I know the UP will love Bill!

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    August 7, 2012 4:05 pm

    Cool T-shirt!
    I hope someone posts wedding pictures soon somewhere.

    • Rose permalink
      August 7, 2012 11:11 pm

      Just emailed some wedding pictures……..Bill, we’re coming to visit. Michigan is too pretty to miss, and we’ll miss you! Melissa -fabulous toast ANDdelivery! Can you post it sometime soon?

Leave a Reply

