Skip to content

Thanks Giving {43}

July 27, 2012

Last night we had a sudden/flash thunderstorm. Timmy had left for a bike ride about 30 minutes before the wind picked up and the thunder crashed. I was hoping that he was close to home and would ride up before it got too bad. He didn’t. After several minutes of worrying my phone rang. Timmy was sitting under an underpass and hoping I would come pick him up. He’s safe! I shut off the oven, put the dinner (waiting to be cooked) in the fridge and hopped in the car.

There were branches all over the road, and Timmy was almost a 20 minute drive away. About half mile to quarter mile from where Timmy was waiting, I noticed a loud noise coming from my car. I figured maybe I picked up a branch and it was dragging. I pulled up to Timmy, got out and looked around the car, but instead of a branch I found a flat tire. Really flat. Good thing I turned off the oven and put the chicken in the fridge…

We ended up sitting under the overpass for about an hour and a half waiting for a tow truck, letting the driver try to get my spare tire out (it’s stuck and doesn’t come out, I tried to tell him) and then loading my car onto the truck. On the bright side, it was a beautiful night to watch the rain and lightening outside…

So today I am thankful that Timmy didn’t get caught somewhere more dangerous when the storm hit. I am thankful that my car works 99% of the time. I am thankful that last night, even though it was by force, I got to sit outside and just enjoy the scenery and the cool air. I am thankful that I had the forethought to turn the oven off before I left the house, because usually I wouldn’t. I am thankful that my insurance covers towing.

Finally, I am thankful for the 4 people who stopped to see if I needed help. I was sitting on the back hatch watching the rain, while Timmy sat in the front seat, so I think people thought I was alone. And by people I mean 4 young men, all with serious beards and 2 with looong hair in a ponytail. Apparently that’s the style out on Redington Road. Timmy says they wouldn’t have stopped if he was the one sitting in the back, and he’s probably right. But that doesn’t bother me, I like that men, especially young men, would stop to help a damsel in distress. It’s a little reassuring bit of chivalry that survives today. Timmy suggested that perhaps there is just a concentration of psychopath’s looking for young ladies at that spot… I’m going with chivalry, and I’m thankful that it survives – women’s movement be damned.

What are you thankful for this week?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    July 27, 2012 8:26 am

    Yes to chivalry! I’m all for that too, and fortunately so is Joe!

    I’m thankful you were both OK, and that you wrote this nice post – once again turning rain into sunshine when many other people would complain! I am thankful for being with some atmospheric physicists at a reception (Joe included!) last night who loved seeing the storm and talking about the physics of air masses/fronts etc……

    I’m also thankful that it’s just about “wedding week” for Patricia and Adam. I can’t wait to formally call Adam our newest nephew (not our littlest, though, thank you Jaxson!), and to see everyone! Patricia will be gorgeous!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  2. Aunt Tricia permalink
    July 27, 2012 9:02 am

    I too am thankful that you’re alright. It was a spectacular storm! Reading this post however reminds me of the opening to an episode of Criminal Minds. Thankfully Timmy was with you. Good luck with the sweater!

  3. Mom permalink
    July 27, 2012 9:34 am

    Aunt Tricia and I think alike, only I was thinking the opening of Castle! You are an entertaining wirter. Dad and I are happy you and Tim are ok and home safe.
    Love,
    Mom

    • July 28, 2012 10:08 am

      Yeah, I was thinking the same thing while I was sitting there watching the storm. I was leaning more toward some kind of cheesy horror movie though, where a big foot style monster would emerge from the woods and trap us in the car. Fortunately, the hairy creatures that did emerge were of a more friendly mind.

  4. Mary Kay permalink
    July 27, 2012 11:07 am

    I’m glad you’re alright too and, I’m ashamed to admit, I’m glad you didn’t call me to pick you up because Tim was at a meeting and I was sitting home alone terrified (and awed). I’m thankful I just put the last batch of cookies for the wedding into the oven. I will miss the smell of almond and vanilla…but not that much!

    • July 28, 2012 10:06 am

      We thought about calling, but there really wasn’t much you could do, so why bother you. It’s good to know that in the future if we need help we should call someone else though, I’ll keep that in mind haha

  5. Aunt Beth permalink
    July 28, 2012 9:40 am

    Let’s admit it, everyone else at some point was thinking the same thing as me: Why are the only chivalrous men in this story the ones with pony tails! What in the world was my nephew doing sitting in the front seat while his wife was rescuing him? All I can picture is Timmy sitting there filing his nails or perhaps finishing the last chapter of Pride and Prejudice. How about this for an idea – Timmy changes the tire.

    Uncle Mike

    • July 28, 2012 10:05 am

      Well, in Timmy’s defense, the spare tire is broken, and can’t be released from under the car, so we can’t just change the tire. We were both just waiting for the tow truck. I would much rather have him sitting quietly in the front seat than sitting next to me spewing his anger at the whole situation haha… I don’t handle anger very well.

Leave a Reply

