Skip to content

Fair Isle Quest: Preparations

July 25, 2012

My Fair Isle Quest continues! I went shopping at my local yarn shop, Conversational Threads, and I picked out my yarn. Side note, they expanded into the space next door and are now twice the size. It is so nice and open now; you can actually see all of the yarns! Maybe I’ll have to head over there and work on my Quest on their couches… But I digress… I picked my yarn and colors!

I was a little intimidated by the thought of picking out colors. Usually that would be something I love to do, but the trick with this is, you don’t really know how the colors will play with each other until they are knit in the pattern. So, rather than go in blind, I used a sample. This sweater is actually the same sweater Scarlet Johansson wears at one point in the movie “We Bought A Zoo”. So I decided to copycat and make one like hers. This is the only picture of her in the sweater anywhere on the internet… Sorry for the weird face.

I wound all of my skeins of yarn into balls, so I won’t have to waste time during regulation on that. Usually I just wind them as I need them, but I know I’m going to need every second of time to get this sweater done by the deadline. If you’re wondering how long that kind of thing takes, these 8 balls (250 yards each) took 2.5 hours to wind. That’s a lot of knitting I would have missed!

It gets smaller at the top because the sweater will get smaller as it approaches my neck, in case you thought something was off.

Next, I knit a test swatch (totally legal) trying out what I thought was the best way to combine the colors. Seeing it now, I think I may switch a couple things, but pretty much it will look like this, except sweater shaped. I wanted to pick colors and a pattern that weren’t going to be out of style next year, and I think I’ve accomplished that. This yarn should last too, it’s Sheperd’s Wool by the Stonehedge Fiber Mill in East Jordan, Michigan (the MI link is part of the reason I liked it). As I was winding it I could feel how soft and smooth it was, and the colors are so pretty! It’s a really good quality worsted weight wool.

Now all that’s left is the knitting… Let the games begin!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 4:40 pm

    i am going to totally love getting that sweater in the mail!!! haha just kidding love it!

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    July 25, 2012 6:35 pm

    I love it…great colors. Can’t wait to see it on you!

Leave a Reply

