Skip to content

Nancy Drew: Heroine

July 18, 2012

Did you ever read Nancy Drew? When I was younger I read just about every Nancy Drew book ever written, at least every one I could find in stores/the library. My aunt gave me a box of her old yellow hard covers and that’s what got me started. I still love a good mystery. Not only do you get to enjoy stepping into someone else’s life, but you get the added bonus of a challenge. Can you solve the mystery? I usually could, which led me to believe that detective or investigative journalist would be the ideal career path for me. As it turns out you need a lot more gumption than I can muster on a daily basis for those jobs.

When I was visiting my parents a couple weeks ago my mom found one of my boxes of Nancy Drew books for me to bring back to PA. I am so excited to read them again! It will be like reuniting with old friends; George, Bess, Ned and Me (Nancy, obviously). Carolyn Keene created such a great heroine in these books! Nancy is strong, smart, resourceful and self-sufficient. In short, an excellent role model for any young girl. While I didn’t grow up to be a detective or investigative journalist, I like to think that, given the right circumstances, I could be a pretty good sleuth myself.

Now, I better get to work on finding that other box of original Nancy Drews… The Case of the Missing Books?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    July 18, 2012 8:34 am

    This is such a cute post! How do you feel about the Hardy Boys?

    • July 18, 2012 8:51 am

      Eh, I never got as into them. I did read a couple of the books, and a few Nancy Drew & Hardy Boys joint adventures, but they just weren’t the same to me for some reason… Too much testosterone I guess.

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    July 18, 2012 1:05 pm

    I loved Nancy…but could never figure out the mystery. Once, I got yelled at by Sr. Joseph Aloysius for reading a Nancy Drew book when the rest of the class was doing Math! Such a rebel.

Leave a Reply

